难题

搭建引领金属增材制造研究和教育的设施

解决方案

3D Systems 3DXpert™一站式AM集成软件和ProX®DMP 320金属3D打印机

结果

  • 高精准的3D打印
  • 能够完全控制增材制造流程(包括激光参数和打印策略),不断探索新技术,解决出现的问题
  • 采用一站式灵活软件方案,为从CAD到后处理的各种增材制造研究需求提供支持

        比利时鲁汶天主教大学(以下简称为KU Leuven 鲁汶大学)在增材制造研究方面拥有近30年的经验,对增材制造的贡献排名全球第三,同时也是全球领先的增材制造学术机构之一。

        鲁汶大学增材制造研究小组由鲁汶大学机械制造系教授 Ir. Ing. Brecht Van Hooreweder领导,他正在开展与激光增材制造相关的不同领域的研究活动,包括:

  • 扩充增材制造材料库,包括陶瓷、铝和生物材料;
  • 通过分析微观结构、纹路、孔隙度和热应力,研究与静态和动态机械特性相关的工艺条件;
  • 优化软硬件的机械设计和工艺;
  • 增强对X光CT、进程监控和后处理的质量控制。

 

       为进一步支持研究活动的开展,增材制造研究小组专门建立了一间实验室,配备了增材制造硬件(包括3D打印机、后处理设备、寿命测试设备、测量设备、粉末生产设备)和软件解决方案,这些软硬件有些由供应商提供,有些则是其自行研发出来的。

 

Researcher at the KU Leuven metal AM research lab using 3D Systems 3DXpert software and the ProX DMP 320 printer

开发下一代增材制造技术

       鲁汶大学已与 3D Systems 密切合作了多年。鲁汶大学增材制造研究小组利用 3DXpert 教育版和ProX DMP 320金属打印机针对增材制造的打印准备、优化、制造和控制开展大量研究项目。此外,鲁汶大学和 3D Systems 也在精密金属增材制造(PAM2)欧洲项目方面开展合作。来自鲁汶大学的博士研究人员在3D Systems鲁汶技术中心完成训练和实习。

       鲁汶大学的研究人员高度重视与 3D Systems 合作过程中积累的行业经验,也高度重视3DXpert在整个制造流程中提供的帮助,帮助他们增强和优化增材制造流程。

        “我最为欣赏的是 3DXpert 能够灵活整合所有增材制造流程,包括从设计到制造的所有流程,”Ing. Jitka Metelkova说道,他是PAM2项目的初级研究院、增材制造工程师和玛丽居里博士后。“要用到CAD工具进行设计工作时,设置扫描策略和激光参数时,或考虑气体流动时,我们会把所有需求整合到同一个软件平台中,这样就没必要使用其它软件解决方案了。”

Setting lattice parameters in 3DXpert software

        “在研究中我们大多数时候都使用钢合金和钛合金,ProX DMP 320低氧含量有助于提供可重复的高质量零部件,” PAM²项目协调员Ir. Ann Witvrouw博士说道。

        “将 3DXpert 软件和 ProX DMP 320打印机结合起来使用,能够很好地达到我们的研发目标,那就是为整个金属增材制造流程寻找一个综合解决方案。在此之前,我们必须使用独立的软件和硬件产品,造成工作流程大大复杂化,甚至有些重要的流程根本无法实现,”Ir. Ing. Van Hooreweder教授说道。“我们对 3DXpert 软件和 ProX DMP 320打印机的表现很满意,也很高兴能够与 3D Systems 开展合作研究工作。”

将3DXpert软件和ProX DMP 320打印机结合起来使用,能够很好地达到我们的研发目标,那就是为整个金属增材制造流程寻找一个综合解决方案。”
—Ir. Ing. Van Hooreweder教授

优化新材料的流程参数

       根据PAM²项目框架,鲁汶大学使用ProX DMP 320打印机处理了两种不同的马氏体时效钢粉末(等级300)。他们使用 3DXpert 软件开展参数研究,为两类粉末开发出最佳参数集,以便同时确保较高的密度和较低的表面粗糙度。

混合增减材制造测试

        鲁汶大学正在对一种新的3D打印混合方法进行测试,该方法将连续波激光与脉冲波激光结合,以便有选择性地去除零部件顶面的材料。

        “3DXpert使得我们能够生成复杂的扫描策略,例如多面扫描,这是非常有帮助的,使得我们能够完成先前无法完成的任务或者必须手工完成的任务,”Jitka Metelkova说道。

定制支架设计

       为研究增材制造得出的Ti6Al4V 支架的复杂载荷条件,来自鲁汶大学的研究人员使用 3DXpert 软件设计了一种网格结构的新型样品几何体。鲁汶大学研究人员成功使用全新的支架几何体,孔隙梯度介于实体末端和支架中间部分,以便进行准静态拉伸测试、拉-拉测试、拉-压测试和压-压疲劳测试。研究结果发表在Nature出版集团旗下刊物《科学报告》(Scientific Reports ),文章名为“增材制造得出的Ti6Al4V 支架在拉-拉、拉-压和压压疲劳载荷条件下的疲劳寿命”。

Using 3DXpert to build lattice structures based on a 1 mm diamond unit cell

        “我们很高兴现在能够快速灵活地生产出所需的定制支架,正如本例中的疲劳样品所示,显示了很好的孔隙梯度。它帮助我们加快研究,得出想要的结构,很好地反映了我们已获得的知识,”Jitka Metelkova说道。

Structural density of lattice structure sample used for mechanical testing designed using 3DXpert

未来增材制造工程师培养

       鲁汶大学机械工程系设有一门增材制造课程,讲述了各种增材制造方法对应的主要原理,并概述了增材制造行业的最新研究成果和当前遇到的研究挑战。

       为确保未来的工程师能够适应增材制造研究和制造环境,增材制造课程框架中也囊括了3DXpert各种扫描策略生成的图片和录像。

       此外,3D Systems鲁汶技术中心还在不断培训年轻的研究员,他们可以在工作室、研讨会和开放日使用大学的教学设施。

塑造增材制造行业的未来

       鲁汶大学从一开始就积极参与增材制造研究,也对增材制造技术的未来充满信心。按照计划,他们将投资解决增材制造技术的现有障碍。

       “未来几年我们的目标包括准确预测增材制造得到的金属网格结构的疲劳寿命,研究实体区域和多孔介质区域混合的情况,并确保零部件质量好,可重复性高,”Ir. Ing. Van Hooreweder教授说道。“我们打算继续与3D Systems公司合作,过去经验证明我们的合作很成功,富有成效。”

CHALLENGE

Establish facilities that enable leadership in metal AM research and education.

SOLUTION

3D Systems 3DXpert™—the all-in-one, integrated AM software—and ProX® DMP 320 metal 3D printer

RESULTS

  • Highly-accurate 3D prints
  • Ability to explore technology and workflow challenges with full control over the AM workflow including laser parameters and print strategies
  • Support for all AM research needs—from CAD to post processing—in one flexible software program

With almost 30 years of additive manufacturing (AM) research and as the third largest contributor to AM, the Catholic University of Leuven (KU Leuven) in Belgium is one of the leading AM academic institutes in the world.

The KU Leuven AM research group is led by Professor Dr. Ir. Ing. Brecht Van Hooreweder from the mechanical engineering department at KU Leuven, who is continuing and extending research activities in different areas related to laser-based AM including:

  • Broadening the AM materials palette to include ceramics, aluminum, and biomaterials;
  • Relating process conditions to static and dynamic mechanical properties by analyzing microstructure, texture, porosity, and thermal stresses;
  • Optimizing machine design and process for software and hardware;
  • Enhancing quality control for X-ray CT, process monitoring, and post-build treatments.

To support its extensive research activities, the AM group established a lab with AM hardware—including 3D printers and equipment for post processing, durability testing, metrology manufacturing, and powder production and characterization—and software solutions from leading vendors as well as its own equipment developed in-house.

Researcher at the KU Leuven metal AM research lab using 3D Systems 3DXpert software and the ProX DMP 320 printer

Developing Next-Generation AM

KU Leuven has been working closely with 3D Systems for many years. The AM research group at KU Leuven uses the educational edition of 3DXpert and the ProX DMP 320 metal printer extensively for various research projects to prepare, optimize, manufacture, and control the manufacturing process. In addition, both KU Leuven and 3D Systems are collaborating in the Precision Additive Metal Manufacturing (PAM²) European project and consortium. And PhD researchers from KU Leuven complete their training and internships at the 3D Systems facilities in Leuven.

Researchers at KU Leuven highly value the industry experience they gain by the close collaboration with 3D Systems and the extensive control 3DXpert provides over the entire manufacturing workflow to enhance and optimize the AM process.

“One of the things I value the most about 3DXpert is its flexibility and integration of all the AM workflow functions from design to manufacturing settings,” says Ing. Jitka Metelkova, early stage researcher (ESR), engineer for AM, and Marie Curie fellow from the PAM2 project. “Whether we need to use CAD tools for design, set scanning strategies and laser parameters, or take into account gas flow considerations, we have it all integrated in one software program so there is no need to use other software solutions.”

Setting lattice parameters in 3DXpert software

“We mostly use steel and titanium alloys in our studies, and the ProX DMP 320 low-oxygen content provides us with repeatable, high-quality parts,” says Dr. Ir. Ann Witvrouw, project coordinator for PAM².

“The combination of the 3DXpert software and ProX DMP 320 printer gives us exactly what our research and development work requires: an integrated solution for the entire metal AM workflow. Before, we had to use independent hardware and software products, which really complicated the workflow and even disabled some important process approaches,” says Prof. Dr. Ir. Ing. Van Hooreweder. “We are very happy with the performance of the 3DXpert software and ProX DMP 320 printer and with the research collaboration with 3D Systems.”

“The combination of the 3DXpert software and ProX DMP 320 printer gives us exactly what our research and development work requires: an integrated solution for the entire metal AM workflow.”
—Prof. Dr. Ir. Ing. Van Hooreweder

Optimizing Process Parameters for a New Material

In the framework of the PAM² project, KU Leuven uses the ProX DMP 320 printer to process two different powders of maraging steel, grade 300. They use 3DXpert software to perform a parameter study and develop an optimum parameter set for the two powders to achieve high-density with low-surface roughness.

Testing Hybrid Additive-Subtractive Manufacturing

KU Leuven is testing a new hybrid approach to 3D printing, combining a continuous-wave laser with a pulsed-wave laser to erode material from the top surface of the part selectively.

“The various possibilities of 3DXpert enable us to generate complex scanning strategies such as multi-exposure, which are very useful and enable us to do things we either could not do before or were forced to do manually,” says Jitka Metelkova.

Designing Custom Scaffolds

To study complex load conditions of additively-manufactured Ti6Al4V scaffolds, researchers at KU Leuven used 3DXpert software to design a novel sample geometry with lattice structures. KU Leuven researchers successfully used the new scaffold geometry, with porosity gradient between the solid ends and scaffold middle, for quasi-static-tension, tension-tension, tension-compression, and compression-compression fatigue tests. The results were published in the Scientific Reports article “Fatigue life of additively manufactured Ti6Al4V scaffolds under tension-tension, tension-compression and compression-compression fatigue load.”

Using 3DXpert to build lattice structures based on a 1 mm diamond unit cell

“We highly appreciate the flexibility to produce our own customized scaffolds very quickly, as in this example of fatigue samples with porosity gradients. It enables us to speed up our research and come up with structures that best reflect the knowledge we have gained,” says Jitka Metelkova.

Structural density of lattice structure sample used for mechanical testing designed using 3DXpert

Educating Future AM Engineers

The mechanical engineering department at KU Leuven offers an AM course that introduces the main principles of various AM techniques with an overview of state-of-the-art developments and current research challenges.

To accustom future engineers to the AM research and manufacturing environment, images and recordings of various scanning strategies generated in 3DXpert are included in the framework of the AM course.

In addition, young researchers are trained at 3D Systems facilities in Leuven and the university facilities are used during workshops, seminars, and open days.

Impacting the Future of AM

KU Leuven has taken an active part in the AM revolution from its early days and is excited about the future of AM technology. In due course, they plan to invest in overcoming existing adoption barriers for AM technology.

“Our long-term objectives for the coming years include accurately predicting the fatigue life of metal lattice structures produced by AM, studying a mix of solid and porous region, and achieving high and repeatable part quality,” says Prof. Dr. Ir. Ing. Van Hooreweder. “We intend to continue our cooperation with 3D Systems that has proved to be efficient and productive.”