3D printer delivers color, volume and quality to enable Starburns to create “thousands upon thousands” of faces for stop-motion puppets.

„Traurig“, „schön“, „witzig“, „jeder Charakter wurde faszinierend und mutig umgesetzt“: Diese Aussagen verbindet man nicht typischerweise mit einem Stop-Motion-Film mit Puppen in der Hauptrolle.

Andererseits hat man so etwas wie den Film Anomalisa vorher noch nie gesehen.

Die Vielfalt an menschlichen Emotionen im Film wurde durch den 3D-Farbdruck mit hoher Auflösung des Systems ProJet® CJP 660 von 3D Systems möglich gemacht. Starburns Industries, eine Full-Service-Produktionsfirma aus Burbank, Kalifornien, nutzte den 3D-Drucker zur Produktion von tausend verschiedenen Gesichtern mit lebensechten Details wie Falten, Lächeln, Runzeln, Sorgenfalten und Tränensäcken.

Von Starburns mit CJP gedruckte Gesichter für Anamolisa

 

Ästhetik trifft auf Produktivität
In den letzten Jahren ist der 3D-Druck in der Filmindustrie gang und gäbe, wenn es um Anwendungen geht wie die Erstellung von Prototypen, Requisiten oder Objekten, die mit konventionellen Möglichkeiten nur schwer herzustellen sind. Das enorme Volumen an Teilen und Emotionen für Anomalisa setzt allerdings ganz neue Maßstäbe für den 3D-Druck in der Unterhaltungsindustrie.

Duke Johnson, Co-Regisseur von Anomalisa, und Charlie Kaufman (Being John Malkovich, Vergiss mein nicht!) nutzten den 3D-Druck, um die inneren Gefühle der Charaktere mit mehr Details zum Ausdruck zu bringen.
Trotz des ästhetischen Werts des ProJet CJP 660 für die Charaktere war es doch die Produktivität dieses spezifischen 3D-Druckers, die den Ausschlag gab: Das System ist schnell, zuverlässig und erzeugt lebensechte Farben. 

Starburns Anamolisa CJP-FigurenDer ProJet CJP 660 erzeugt 3D-Drücke in Vollfarbe in einem Druck ohne einen Wechsel von Paletten.Der Druckraum von 254 x 381 x 203 mm (10 x 15 x 8 Zoll) ermöglichte Starburns eine Umsetzung von Dutzenden an Gesichtern mit verschiedenen Ausdrücken innerhalb von Stunden in einem einzigen Prozess.
„Für uns ist die Farbe das wichtigste Merkmal, neben der Geschwindigkeit und dem Druckvolumen des Geräts“, erläutert Bryan LaFata, Operations Supervisor bei Starburns Industries. „Der ProJet lief bei uns während der Produktion von Anomalisa eineinhalb Jahre lang fast ununterbrochen und erzeugte viele Tausend Gesichter.“

Tausende Gesichtsausdrücke   
Starburns modellierte und druckte drei Grunddesigns von Köpfen für Anomalisa: Je ein Design für die Hauptcharaktere Michael und Lisa und ein weiteres für das „Allerweltsgesicht“, ein Gesicht, das anhand von 20 oder mehr Gesichtern von Mitarbeitern bei Starburns erschaffen wurde. Das Allerweltsgesicht wurde für alle Charaktere außer für Michael und Lisa genutzt.

Starburns Anamolisa CJP-FigurenDie Gesichter für die Charaktere bestehen aus einer unteren und einer oberen Gesichtshälfte.Für die Charaktere druckte Starburns tausende Gesichtsausdrücke. Dies bot den Animatoren Zugang zu nahezu allen möglichen Gesichtsausdrücken für die einzelnen Szenen.
„Wir haben ganze Regale voller Gesichter erstellt, die wir jederzeit auswechseln konnten“, erklärte LaFata. „Manchmal mussten wir mehrere Gesichtsmodelle ausprobieren, bevor wir das richtige Lächeln hatten.“

Beibehaltung des Look and Feel  
Die Regisseure von Anomalisa trafen die bewusste Entscheidung, die Linien zwischen den oberen und unteren Gesichtshälften nicht digital zu entfernen.

James A. Fino, Executive Producer und Partner bei Starburns, erläuterte diese Entscheidung in einem Artikel auf der Website der Producer’s Guild of America: „In animierten Stop-Motion-Filmen werden diese Linien normalerweise digital entfernt. Bei Anomalisa entschieden wir uns allerdings dagegen. Anstatt zu stören, sind sie im ganzen Film eher ein subtiles Zeichen für die unglaubliche künstlerische Leistung in diesem Film.“

In einem Artikel von Mekado Murphy in der New York Times wurde dies durch den Co-Regisseur Kaufman folgendermaßen erklärt: „Wir wollten die Tatsache nicht vertuschen, dass es sich um Stop-Motion handelt. Wir wollten nicht verschleiern, um was es hier ging... wir wollten das Gefühl der verborgenen Präsenz der Animatoren vermitteln.“

Starburns arbeitete die Charaktere außerdem minimal nach, erhielt aber trotzdem das Look and Feel durch die direkte Produktion mit dem ProJet 660. Auch dies war eine Präferenz der Regisseure.

“We used [3D printing] for a very specific purpose with the realism that they wanted in the faces, and the textures and the differences in color would not have been possible by hand-painting,” says Caroline Kastelic, Starburns Puppet Supervisor, in an IndieWire interview. “And that’s why they have that nice texture on them...I find that aesthetically brilliant and it also saved us a lot of time.”

Betreuung vor Ort 
Die Umsetzung von tausenden Gesichtern, dutzenden Körpermodellen und realistischen Sets für eine Produktion wie Anomalisa erfordert Teamwork. Nicht nur bei den fast 200 Mitarbeitern von Starburns, sondern auch mit externen Partnern.

LaFata lobt besonders 3D Rapid Prototyping, ein Partnerunternehmen von 3D Systems in Garden Grove, Kalifornien, das Starburns mit Werkstoffen und bei Bedarf sogar mit gedruckten Gesichtsmodellen versorgte.

„Wir haben unglaublich viele Gesichter hergestellt, oft rund um die Uhr, und Bill Craig, President/CFO von 3D Rapid Prototyping, und sein Team haben uns dabei immer tatkräftig unterstützt.“

Starburns Anamolisa CJP-FigurenGroße Zukunft für den 3D-Druck 
Egal wie faszinierend die Technologie hinter den Kulissen eines Films ist, das wichtigste Erfolgskriterium ist die Entwicklung der Geschichte. Im Fall von Anomalisa ist der 3D-Druck nicht nur ein Spezialeffekt oder Gesprächsthema. Er entscheidet wesentlich darüber, wie die Charaktere des Films agieren.

Dieser Ansatz scheint einen Nerv getroffen zu haben: Neben Nominierungen bei den Oscars und den Golden Globes war Anomalisa der erste Animationsfilm, der bei den 72. Internationalen Filmfestspielen von Venedig mit dem Grand Jury Prize ausgezeichnet wurde. In seiner 5-Sterne-Kritik im Rolling Stone Magazine beschreibt Peter Travers Anomalisa als ein „Stop-Motion-Meisterwerk“.

Bryan LaFata glaubt nicht, dass Anomalisa ein einmaliges Phänomen ist.

„Der Maßstab und die Geschwindigkeit, mit der man Modelle im Vollfarbdruck mit einem Gerät wie dem ProJet CJP 660 erstellen kann, ist definitiv ein entscheidender Vorteil“, erklärt er. 

„Ich glaube, dass der 3D-Druck bei Stop-Motion-Filmen eine große Zukunft hat.“

×

3D printer delivers color, volume and quality to enable Starburns to create “thousands upon thousands” of faces for stop-motion puppets.

“Sad,” “beautiful,” “witty,” “every character fascinating and boldly realized”: These are not words one typically associates with a stop-motion film starring puppets.

But, then again, the film Anomalisa is something that’s not been seen before.

The range of expressive humanity achieved in the film was made possible by the high-resolution 3D color printing of the 3D Systems ProJet® CJP 660 system. Starburns Industries, a full-service production company based in Burbank, California, used the 3D printer to turn out thousands of different faces with life-like details such as wrinkles, smiles, frowns, worry lines and bags under the eyes.

Starburns Anamolisa CJP Printed Faces

 

Aesthetic Value Meets Productivity
Over the last few years, 3D printing has become commonplace in the movie industry for applications such as prototyping, prop making and creating objects that are difficult to construct in traditional ways. But, in the sheer volume of parts and in the emotional realm in which it is used, Anomalisa sets new precedents for 3D printing in entertainment.

Duke Johnson, co-director of Anomalisa, along with Charlie Kaufman (Being John Malkovich, Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind), cited 3D printing for helping to establish the inner feelings of the characters and providing a higher level of detail.
But for all the aesthetic value that the ProJet CJP 660 helped bring to the characters, the use of this particular 3D printer came down primarily to productivity: the system is fast, reliable and generates life-like color. 

Starburns Anamolisa CJP FiguresThe ProJet CJP 660 outputs full-color 3D prints in one run without having to change palettes. Its build area of 254 x 381 x 203 mm (10 x 15 x 8 inches) enabled Starburns to turn out dozens of faces with different expressions in a single run within hours.
“Color is the most important attribute for us, along with speed and the volume the machine can produce,” says Bryan LaFata, Operations Supervisor at Starburns Industries. “We were running the ProJet almost non-stop for a year and a half during Anomalisa production, creating thousands upon thousands of faces.”

Thousands of Expressions   
Starburns modeled and printed three basic head designs for Anomalisa: One each for the lead characters Michael and Lisa, and another for what is called the “world face,” a composite face modeled from 20 or more Starburns employees. The world face was used for every character except Michael and Lisa.

Starburns Anamolisa CJP FiguresThe faces for the characters include an upper and lower faceplate. Thousands of expressions were modeled and printed by Starburns for the characters. This gave animators access to nearly every possible expression for a given scene.
“We produced racks full of faces so they could be switched out at any time,” says LaFata. “It could take multiple facial models just to get the right smile.”

Retaining the Look and Feel  
A conscious choice was made by the Anomalisa directors to keep the lines between the upper and lower faces in place without digital airbrushing.

James A. Fino, Executive Producer and Partner at Starburns, explains this decision in an article on the Producer’s Guild of America website: “Recent stop-motion animated features typically erase those lines digitally, but that was not our choice for Anomalisa. Rather than a distracting element, the seams serve as subtle and persistent signs of the incredible artistry on display in the film.”

In a New York Times article by Mekado Murphy, co-director Kaufman explained it this way: “We didn’t want to hide the fact that it’s stop-motion. We didn’t want to paint out the thing that it was...we wanted that feeling of the unseen presence of the animators.”

Starburns also did minimum post-processing of the characters’ faces, retaining the look and feel that came directly from the ProJet 660. Again, this was the directors’ preference.

“We used [3D printing] for a very specific purpose with the realism that they wanted in the faces, and the textures and the differences in color would not have been possible by hand-painting,” says Caroline Kastelic, Starburns Puppet Supervisor, in an IndieWire interview. “And that’s why they have that nice texture on them...I find that aesthetically brilliant and it also saved us a lot of time.”For Northrop Grumman, rapid manufacturing  is now a viable, beneficial reality.   

Local Support 
Creating the thousands of faces, dozens of body models, and the realistic sets for a production such as Anomalisa takes teamwork; not just among the nearly 200 people at Starburns, but by outside partners as well.

LaFata gives credit to 3D Rapid Prototyping, a 3D Systems partner based in nearby Garden Grove, California, for keeping Starburns supplied with materials and even printing face models when needed.

“We were pushing out a lot of faces, often 24/7, and Bill Craig [3D Rapid Prototyping President/CFO] and his team were always there to help us out,” he says.

Starburns Anamolisa CJP FiguresBig Future for 3D Printing 
No matter how fascinating the behind-the-scenes technology is for a film, the ultimate measure of success is how the story is delivered. In the case of Anomalisa, 3D printing is not just a special effect or quirky conversation piece; it is integral to the way the characters perform.

The approach seemed to have struck a chord: Beyond Oscar and Golden Globe nominations, Anomalisa was the first animated film to win the Grand Jury Prize at the 72nd Venice International Film Festival. In his five-star review in Rolling Stone magazine, Peter Travers calls Anomalisa a “stop-motion masterpiece.”

Bryan LaFata doesn’t think Anomalisa is a one-off phenomenon.

“The scale and speed at which you can produce full-color models on a machine such as the ProJet CJP 660 is definitely a major benefit,” he says. 

“I think 3D printing has a big future for stop-motion films.”


More Customer Stories