3D printer delivers color, volume and quality to enable Starburns to create “thousands upon thousands” of faces for stop-motion puppets.

« Tristes », « beaux », « drôles », « tous les personnages sont réalisés avec des traits fascinants et bien tracés ». Ce ne sont pas des mots que l’on associe souvent à un film d’animation image par image avec des figurines en vedettes.

Mais cela dit, le film Anomalisa est une œuvre inédite.

Le niveau d’émotivité présenté dans le film résulte de l’utilisation de l’impression 3D en couleurs de haute résolution du système ProJet® CJP 660 de 3D Systems. Starburns Industries, une société de production globale située à Burbank, Californie, a utilisé l’imprimante 3D pour modeler des milliers de visages différents avec des détails réalistes comme les rides, les sourires, les moues et les poches sous les yeux.

Profils imprimés sur CJP Starburns Anomalisa

 

Combinaison du caractère esthétique et de la productivité
Depuis quelques années, l’impression 3D est devenue courante dans l’industrie cinématographique pour les applications comme le prototypage, la fabrication d’accessoires et la création d’objets difficiles à réaliser avec des méthodes traditionnelles. Mais, en termes strictes de volume de pièces et d’émotivité, l’usage de l’impression 3D dans Anomalisa établit de nouvelles pratiques du procédé dans le secteur du divertissement.

Duke Johnson, co-réalisateur d’ Anomalisa avec Charlie Kaufman (Dans la peau de John Malkovich, Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind), a cité l’usage de l’impression 3D pour permettre d’illustrer les sentiments personnels des personnages et fournir des détails plus raffinés.
Outre le caractère esthétique que l’imprimante ProJet CJP 660 a permis de donner aux personnages, l’utilisation de cette imprimante 3D spécifique se résume principalement par la productivité : le système est rapide, fiable et génère des couleurs réalistes. 

Figures par CJP Starburns AnomalisaL’imprimante ProJet CJP 660 produit des impressions 3D en couleurs dans un tirage unique sans avoir à changer de palettes. Son volume de fabrication de 254 x 381 x 203 mm (10 x 15 x 8 pouces) a permis à Starburns de modéliser des douzaines de visages différents en un seul tirage et en quelques heures.
« La couleur est la caractéristique la plus essentielle pour nous, ainsi que la vitesse et le volume de production d’une machine », affirme Bryan LaFata, régisseur de Starburns Industries. « Nous avons continuellement utilisé l’imprimante ProJet pendant presque un an et demi pendant la production d’Anomalisa pour créer des milliers de visages. »

Des milliers d’expressions   
Starburns a modélisé et imprimé trois designs de base pour la tête pour Anomalisa : un pour chacun des personnages principaux, Michael et Lisa, et un autre pour ce qu’on appelle le « visage commun », un visage composite modélisé à partir de 20 employés de Starburns ou plus. Le visage commun a été utilisé sur chaque personnage, à l’exclusion de Michael et Lisa.

Figures par CJP Starburns AnomalisaLes visages des personnages comprennent des plaquettes supérieures et inférieures. Starburns a modélisé et imprimé des milliers d’expressions pour les personnages. Cela a permis aux animateurs de recourir à presque toutes les expressions possibles pour une scène donnée.
« Nous avons produit des étagères remplies de visages pour pouvoir les remplacer à tout moment », affirme LaFata. « Plusieurs modèles faciaux peuvent être nécessaires pour obtenir le sourire parfait. »

Conservation de l’aspect et de l’impression  
Les réalisateurs d’ Anomalisa ont délibérément décidé de garder les lignes entre les traits supérieurs et inférieurs sans recourir à une retouche numérique à l’aérographe.

James A. Fino, producteur exécutif et partenaire de Starburns explique ce choix dans un article du site Web de la Guilde des producteurs américains : « Les récents films d’animation image par image suppriment généralement ces lignes numériquement, mais nous en avons décidé autrement pour Anomalisa. Au lieu d’être un élément perturbateur, les jointures sont la preuve subtile et immuable de l’incroyable habileté artistique affichée dans le film. »

Dans un article du New York Times de Mekado Murphy, le co-réalisateur Kaufman a expliqué ce choix de la manière suivante : « Nous ne voulions pas masquer le fait que c’est de l’animation image par image. Nous ne voulions pas dissimuler la nature de l’œuvre… nous voulions cette sensation de présence invisible des animateurs. »

De plus, Starburns a effectué des retouches minimales sur les visages des personnages, conservant ainsi l’aspect et l’impression résultant directement de l’imprimante ProJet 660. Rappelons que tel était le choix des réalisateurs.

“We used [3D printing] for a very specific purpose with the realism that they wanted in the faces, and the textures and the differences in color would not have been possible by hand-painting,” says Caroline Kastelic, Starburns Puppet Supervisor, in an IndieWire interview. “And that’s why they have that nice texture on them...I find that aesthetically brilliant and it also saved us a lot of time.”

Assistance locale 
Créer des milliers de visages, des douzaines de modèles corporels et des décors réalistes dans la production de films d’animation comme Anomalisa exige un travail d’équipe ; non seulement entre les quelques 200 employés de Starburns, mais avec les partenaires externes également.

LaFata remercie 3D Rapid Prototyping, un partenaire de 3D Systems situé près de Garden Grove, en Californie, pour avoir fourni les matériaux à Starburns, ainsi que les modèles d’impression de visages quand ils en ont eu besoin.

« Nous avons produit beaucoup de visages, souvent durant 24 h/24 et 7 j/7, et Bill Craig [président et directeur administratif de 3D Systems] ainsi que son équipe nous ont fourni leur assistance », affirme-t-il.

Figures par CJP Starburns AnomalisaBel avenir pour l’impression 3D 
Peu importe le degré de fascination qu’évoque la technologie de tournage d’un film, le critère ultime du succès est le mode de présentation de l’histoire. Dans le cas d’ Anomalisa, l’impression 3D n’est pas seulement un effet spécial ou un sujet de conversation original ; elle fait partie de la mise en scène des personnages.

L’approche a semblé porter ses fruits : outre des nominations à l’Oscar et au Golden Globe, Anomalisa a été le premier film d’animation à remporter le Grand prix du Jury au 72e Festival international du film de Venise. Dans sa critique à cinq étoiles dans le magazine Rolling Stone, Peter Travers décrit Anomalisa comme un « chef-d’œuvre de l’animation image par image ».

Bryan LaFata ne pense pas qu’ Anomalisa soit un phénomène exceptionnel.

« L’échelle et la vitesse de production de modèles en couleurs sur une machine comme l’imprimante ProJet CJP 660 sont définitivement un avantage essentiel », affirme-t-il. 

« Je pense que l’impression 3D a un bel avenir pour les films d’animation image par image. »

×

3D printer delivers color, volume and quality to enable Starburns to create “thousands upon thousands” of faces for stop-motion puppets.

“Sad,” “beautiful,” “witty,” “every character fascinating and boldly realized”: These are not words one typically associates with a stop-motion film starring puppets.

But, then again, the film Anomalisa is something that’s not been seen before.

The range of expressive humanity achieved in the film was made possible by the high-resolution 3D color printing of the 3D Systems ProJet® CJP 660 system. Starburns Industries, a full-service production company based in Burbank, California, used the 3D printer to turn out thousands of different faces with life-like details such as wrinkles, smiles, frowns, worry lines and bags under the eyes.

Starburns Anamolisa CJP Printed Faces

 

Aesthetic Value Meets Productivity
Over the last few years, 3D printing has become commonplace in the movie industry for applications such as prototyping, prop making and creating objects that are difficult to construct in traditional ways. But, in the sheer volume of parts and in the emotional realm in which it is used, Anomalisa sets new precedents for 3D printing in entertainment.

Duke Johnson, co-director of Anomalisa, along with Charlie Kaufman (Being John Malkovich, Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind), cited 3D printing for helping to establish the inner feelings of the characters and providing a higher level of detail.
But for all the aesthetic value that the ProJet CJP 660 helped bring to the characters, the use of this particular 3D printer came down primarily to productivity: the system is fast, reliable and generates life-like color. 

Starburns Anamolisa CJP FiguresThe ProJet CJP 660 outputs full-color 3D prints in one run without having to change palettes. Its build area of 254 x 381 x 203 mm (10 x 15 x 8 inches) enabled Starburns to turn out dozens of faces with different expressions in a single run within hours.
“Color is the most important attribute for us, along with speed and the volume the machine can produce,” says Bryan LaFata, Operations Supervisor at Starburns Industries. “We were running the ProJet almost non-stop for a year and a half during Anomalisa production, creating thousands upon thousands of faces.”

Thousands of Expressions   
Starburns modeled and printed three basic head designs for Anomalisa: One each for the lead characters Michael and Lisa, and another for what is called the “world face,” a composite face modeled from 20 or more Starburns employees. The world face was used for every character except Michael and Lisa.

Starburns Anamolisa CJP FiguresThe faces for the characters include an upper and lower faceplate. Thousands of expressions were modeled and printed by Starburns for the characters. This gave animators access to nearly every possible expression for a given scene.
“We produced racks full of faces so they could be switched out at any time,” says LaFata. “It could take multiple facial models just to get the right smile.”

Retaining the Look and Feel  
A conscious choice was made by the Anomalisa directors to keep the lines between the upper and lower faces in place without digital airbrushing.

James A. Fino, Executive Producer and Partner at Starburns, explains this decision in an article on the Producer’s Guild of America website: “Recent stop-motion animated features typically erase those lines digitally, but that was not our choice for Anomalisa. Rather than a distracting element, the seams serve as subtle and persistent signs of the incredible artistry on display in the film.”

In a New York Times article by Mekado Murphy, co-director Kaufman explained it this way: “We didn’t want to hide the fact that it’s stop-motion. We didn’t want to paint out the thing that it was...we wanted that feeling of the unseen presence of the animators.”

Starburns also did minimum post-processing of the characters’ faces, retaining the look and feel that came directly from the ProJet 660. Again, this was the directors’ preference.

“We used [3D printing] for a very specific purpose with the realism that they wanted in the faces, and the textures and the differences in color would not have been possible by hand-painting,” says Caroline Kastelic, Starburns Puppet Supervisor, in an IndieWire interview. “And that’s why they have that nice texture on them...I find that aesthetically brilliant and it also saved us a lot of time.”For Northrop Grumman, rapid manufacturing  is now a viable, beneficial reality.   

Local Support 
Creating the thousands of faces, dozens of body models, and the realistic sets for a production such as Anomalisa takes teamwork; not just among the nearly 200 people at Starburns, but by outside partners as well.

LaFata gives credit to 3D Rapid Prototyping, a 3D Systems partner based in nearby Garden Grove, California, for keeping Starburns supplied with materials and even printing face models when needed.

“We were pushing out a lot of faces, often 24/7, and Bill Craig [3D Rapid Prototyping President/CFO] and his team were always there to help us out,” he says.

Starburns Anamolisa CJP FiguresBig Future for 3D Printing 
No matter how fascinating the behind-the-scenes technology is for a film, the ultimate measure of success is how the story is delivered. In the case of Anomalisa, 3D printing is not just a special effect or quirky conversation piece; it is integral to the way the characters perform.

The approach seemed to have struck a chord: Beyond Oscar and Golden Globe nominations, Anomalisa was the first animated film to win the Grand Jury Prize at the 72nd Venice International Film Festival. In his five-star review in Rolling Stone magazine, Peter Travers calls Anomalisa a “stop-motion masterpiece.”

Bryan LaFata doesn’t think Anomalisa is a one-off phenomenon.

“The scale and speed at which you can produce full-color models on a machine such as the ProJet CJP 660 is definitely a major benefit,” he says. 

“I think 3D printing has a big future for stop-motion films.”


More Customer Stories