3D Systems 按需制造服务将 140 种不同设计转换为原型和生产部件,用于“融合美学”的 P51 Combat Fighter 摩托车。

当理想设计遭遇现实制造壁垒,这是让每一位行业设计师都头疼的问题。

Confederate Motors has faced that moment many times in the past, but not recently. Its collaboration with 3D Systems On Demand Manufacturing, Quickparts, has given the bespoke motorcycle company the ability to turn even its most wildly imaginative designs into physical reality.

预料之中与预料之外

3D Systems provides Stereolithography (SLA) and Selective Laser Sintering (SLS) prototypes and molds that have accelerated product development and helped ensure quality for Confederate Motors. 

这类 3D 打印专业知识预计可从 3D Systems 获取。预料之外的可能是,联合开发的装配件套件包括 3D Systems 使用传统的数控铣削和钣金工艺准时 (JIT) 制造的 140 种不同部件。

“我们与 3D Systems 的关系可能是我自从业以来最好的事情。”Confederate Motors 的创始人兼首席执行官 Matt Chambers 这样表示,“这极大减轻了我们这个小团队的压力,让我们可以专注于喜欢做的事情,设计出可以想象到的最好的车辆。”

在不懈创新中合作

Confederate Motors is a 25-year-old company that is unabashedly passionate about what it does—design and manufacture exclusive motorcycles in small batches of around 60 machines for each model version.

公司将其设计美学描绘为“简洁、实用、极致清晰,我们因此被定位为极简主义。”设计过程本身是在最纯粹的意义上追求不懈创新。

3D Systems 按需制造对于一家不断重塑摩托车外观和操作概念的公司来讲是一个完美的合作伙伴。

在 2014 年底的初步会议上讨论 Confederate Motors 的需求和愿望后,决定采用 3D Systems 为数百个原型、模具和生产部件提供一站式服务,从而创造巨大的价值。部件涉及有进气歧管、启动摩托车的钥匙等。

P51 Combat Fighter 的底盘、转向和摇臂部件全部由 3D Systems 供货并生产。碳纤维部件—前后挡板、消音器护盖和链条防护装置—由 3D Systems SLA 打印机使用 Accura PEAK 材料打印的 SLA 模型制成。 

“除一些发动机组件、线路、车轮、轮胎和照明设备外,3D Systems 制作 Fighter 的所有部件。”Confederate Motors 的设计师 Jordan Cornille 表示,“与一家主要供应商联合部件生产后,我们节省了大量的时间和精力。部件来自同一供应商可以确保更加协调,我们也能确信所有的部件光洁度相匹配。”

从原型到生产

部件精度与质量推动 3D Systems 工艺发展,最初是原型部件,然后扩展到设计修正和最终生产部件。

“在原型制造时,最让我们感到担忧的是部件生产达不到宣传的效果。”Confederate 的生产经理 Jason Reddick 表示,“G2 P51 的 3D Systems 部件按照我们的指令和要求的顺序准时生产。原型制造按时完成,实际上是提前完成,比我们的预期提前了几天。这是我们制造的最好的原型。”

3D Systems 使用的 QuickCutCNC 工艺诠释了客户的 CAD 设计并将数据传输给高端数控机床。这种工艺生产的部件可以用真正的生产级材料替代增材制造的原型。

3D Systems 按需制造拥有最先进的钣金加工设备,包括垂直集成的金属成型、激光切割/冲孔、数控加工、焊接和精加工单元。一些机床可以处理几乎任何尺寸的高品质钣金外罩和外壳的原型和生产运行。

即使 3D Systems 不能自己制造部件,也可以帮助确保质量,就好比为 P51 碳纤维部件提供 SLA 母模一样。 

“3D Systems 让我们能够用固体材料设计出非凡的结构和形状。“Cornille 说,“这些机床非常精确,从原型到生产几乎没有变化。唯一需要调整的就是我们的设计变更。”

让评论家满意

受美国式街头飚车启发的设计以及 G2 P51 Combat Fighter 毫不费力提供 200 英尺磅扭矩的能力令挑剔的评论家大开眼界。

Pauld’Orleans 在他的 Cycle World 评论文章中赞美了 P51,认为它“融合了美学,彰显男子气概...Confederate 实现了设计使命,以强大的功率输送和排气声音,加上独特的美感吸引了路人前所未有的关注。”

Andrew Hard 在 Digital Trends 中写道:“公司的设计灵感来自于一种称为”美国之路“的原始反叛精神,因而受到激发创作出同样粗犷、华丽,起伏,具有历史气息的艺术作品。”

享有设计自由

对于 Matt Chambers 及其 Confederate Motors 团队而言,与 3D Systems 携手不仅是一种合作,也是充分享受自由的源泉,公司对这一点最为重视。

“我无法用言语表达它给我们带来的便利,让我们可以专注于真正擅长的设计工作。它颠覆了我们的整个计划,不仅仅是我们正在从事的摩托车工作,还有未来三到四年内即将涉足的四到五个新型车辆设计领域。”

Jordan Cornille 认为 3D Systems 技术和专业知识是实现 Confederate Motors 关键突破的主要推动因素。

“我们希望加快决策制定流程和设计步伐,以便在特定时间内为客户提供尽可能多的解决方案。我们不会每个模型都生产数千件复件,3D Systems 为我们频繁更改设计而无需承担数千美元的工具成本创造了条件。”

×

3D Systems On Demand Manufacturing service converts 140 different designs into prototypes and production parts for “integrated aesthetic” of P51 Combat Fighter motorcycle.

There’s a moment that every industrial designer dreads: When his or her ideal design bumps up against manufacturing reality.

Confederate Motors has faced that moment many times in the past, but not recently. Its collaboration with 3D Systems On Demand Manufacturing, Quickparts, has given the bespoke motorcycle company the ability to turn even its most wildly imaginative designs into physical reality.

The expected and unexpected

3D Systems provides Stereolithography (SLA) and Selective Laser Sintering (SLS) prototypes and molds that have accelerated product development and helped ensure quality for Confederate Motors. 

That type of 3D printing expertise is expected from 3D Systems. Less expected perhaps are jointly developed assembly kits comprising 140 different parts that 3D Systems manufactures on a just-in-time (JIT) basis using traditional CNC milling and sheet metal processes.

“Our relationship with 3D Systems is probably the best thing that’s happened to me since I’ve been in this business,” says Matt Chambers, founder and CEO of Confederate Motors. “It takes so much of the pressure off our small team and lets us focus on what we love to do, which is design the best possible bike imaginable.”

Partners in relentless innovation

Confederate Motors is a 25-year-old company that is unabashedly passionate about what it does—design and manufacture exclusive motorcycles in small batches of around  60 machines for each model version.

The company characterizes its design aesthetic as “bare, functional, scrupulous clarity, what we have hence dubbed skeletal minimalism.” The design process itself could be described as relentless innovation in its purest sense.

3D Systems On Demand Manufacturing is the perfect partner for a company that is constantly reinventing the notion of how a motorcycle should look and perform.

After discussing Confederate Motors’ needs and desires in initial meetings in late 2014, it was decided that the best value would come from 3D Systems providing a one-stop shop for hundreds of prototypes, molds and production parts. The parts range from the intake manifold to the key to start the motorcycle.

The chassis, steering and swing arm parts for the P51 Combat Fighter are all sourced and machined by 3D Systems. Carbon fiber parts—the front and back fenders, the exhaust shield and the chain guard—are manufactured from SLA patterns printed with Accura PEAK material on a 3D Systems SLA printer. 

“With the exception of some engine components, wiring, wheels, tires and lighting, 3D Systems makes every part of the Fighter,” says Jordan Cornille, designer at Confederate Motors. “We save a tremendous amount of time and hassle by being able to consolidate part production with one primary vendor. Parts go together better coming from the same vendor, and we can be assured that the part finish of everything will match.”

From prototype to production

Part accuracy and quality drives every 3D Systems process, beginning with prototype parts and extending through design revisions and final production parts.

“The thing that holds me up the most when we are prototyping is when a part doesn’t come in as advertised,” says Jason Reddick, Confederate’s production manager. “The 3D Systems parts for the G2 P51 came in as we asked for them, in the order in which we asked, on time. The prototype stayed on schedule and actually finished ahead of time, beating our projection by several days. This is the best prototype we’ve ever done.”

The QuickCutCNC process used by 3D Systems interprets the client’s CAD design and translates data to high-end CNC machines. The process produces parts that can replace the additive manufactured prototypes with true production-grade materials.

3D Systems On Demand Manufacturing has a state-of-the-art sheet metal fabrication facility that includes vertically integrated metal forming, laser cutting/punching, CNC machining, welding and finishing cells. There are machines to handle both prototype and production runs of high-quality sheet metal enclosures and housings of practically any size.

If 3D Systems cannot manufacture the part itself, it can still help ensure quality, as it did in supplying the SLA master patterns for the P51 carbon fiber parts. 

“3D Systems allows us to design extraordinary forms and shapes out of solid materials,” says Cornille. “The machines are so precise that there were very few changes to be made going from prototype to production. The only tweaks that were needed were design changes on our end.”

Pleasing the critics

The American drag-racing-inspired design and the ability of the G2 P51 Combat Fighter to effortlessly deliver 200 foot pounds of torque are opening the eyes of discerning critics.

In his Cycle World review, Paul d’Orleans praises the P51’s “integrated aesthetic, which hones its message of pure machismo...The Confederate did what it was designed to do, attracting more pedestrian attention than any motorcycle I’ve ever straddled, with an awesome power delivery and exhaust note, plus that unique aesthetic.”

Writing in Digital Trends, Andrew Hard says: “The company’s vehicles are inspired by a raw, rebel spirit it calls the American Way, resulting in creations that are equal parts brutish and dashing, rolling art pieces with historical flair.”

Delivering design freedom

For Matt Chambers and his team at Confederate Motors, working with 3D Systems is not just a collaboration, but a major source of freedom, something the company values above almost all else.

“It’s unfathomable for me to explain in words just how much better it is to be free to do something we are really great at, which is design. It’s changed our entire program, not just for the motorcycles we are working on now, but for the four or five new bike designs we’ll work on over the next three to four years.”

Jordan Cornille sees 3D Systems technologies and know-how as prime enablers in feeding the restlessness that’s at the heart of Confederate Motors.

“We like to move quickly in our decision-making processes and design quickly in order to offer our customers as many solutions as possible within a certain time frame. We don’t produce thousands of copies of each model, and 3D Systems allows us to change designs frequently without committing to thousands of dollars worth of tooling.”