Le service de fabrication à la demande de 3D Systems transforme 140 différentes conceptions en prototypes et en pièces de production pour l'« esthétique intégrée » de la moto P51 Combat Fighter.

Il y a un moment redouté par tout concepteur industriel : lorsque la conception idéale à ses yeux se heurte à la réalité de la fabrication.

Confederate Motors has faced that moment many times in the past, but not recently. Its collaboration with 3D Systems On Demand Manufacturing, Quickparts, has given the bespoke motorcycle company the ability to turn even its most wildly imaginative designs into physical reality.

Une solution prévisible et inattendue

3D Systems provides Stereolithography (SLA) and Selective Laser Sintering (SLS) prototypes and molds that have accelerated product development and helped ensure quality for Confederate Motors. 

Ce type d'expertise en impression 3D est attendu de la part de 3D Systems. Les kits de montage développés conjointement, qui comprennent 140 pièces différentes et que 3D Systems produit en appliquant la méthode du juste-à-temps (JAT) et en utilisant le fraisage CNC et l’usinage de feuilles de métal traditionnels, sont peut-être moins attendus.

« Notre relation avec 3D Systems est probablement la meilleure chose qui me soit arrivée depuis que je fais partie de cette entreprise, a déclaré Matt Chambers, fondateur et PDG de Confederate Motors. Elle permet de soulager la pression dans notre petite équipe pour nous concentrer sur ce que nous aimons faire par-dessus tout, c'est-à-dire concevoir la meilleure moto possible. »

Partenaires d'une innovation continue

Confederate Motors is a 25-year-old company that is unabashedly passionate about what it does—design and manufacture exclusive motorcycles in small batches of around 60 machines for each model version.

Sur le plan esthétique, l'entreprise définit ses conceptions comme « simples, fonctionnelles, minutieusement soignées et comparables au minimalisme d'un squelette ». La procédure de conception elle-même peut être décrite comme toujours innovante au sens le plus pur.

Le service de fabrication à la demande de 3D Systems est le partenaire idéal pour une entreprise qui réinvente constamment la notion d’apparence et de performance d'une moto.

À la suite d'un échange sur les besoins et les envies de Confederate Motors lors des premières réunions à la fin de l'année 2014, il a été décidé que le meilleur rapport qualité/prix viendrait de 3D Systems qui fournirait un guichet unique pour des centaines de prototypes, moules et pièces de production. Les pièces varient du collecteur d'admission jusqu'à la clé permettant de démarrer la moto.

Les pièces du châssis, de la direction et du bras oscillant de la P51 Combat Fighter sont toutes conçues et usinées par 3D Systems. Les pièces en fibre de carbone (les ailes avant et arrière, le pot d'échappement et la protection de chaîne) sont produites à partir de modèles SLA imprimés avec le matériau Accura PEAK sur une imprimante SLA 3D Systems. 

« À l'exception de certains composants du moteur, des câblages, des roues, des pneus et des feux, 3D Systems produit toutes les pièces du modèle Fighter, affirme Jordan Cornille, concepteur chez Confederate Motors. Nous gagnons un temps considérable et évitons beaucoup de problèmes grâce à la capacité de consolider la production des pièces avec un fournisseur principal. L'assemblage des pièces venant d'un fournisseur unique est plus simple, et nous pouvons en outre certifier que la finition des pièces de l'ensemble sera uniforme. »

Du prototype à la production

Tous les processus de 3D Systems visent à assurer la qualité et la précision des pièces, à commencer par les pièces des prototypes en passant par les révisions des conceptions jusqu'aux pièces de production finales.

« Ce qui me retarde le plus lorsque nous travaillons sur un prototype, c'est lorsqu'une pièce n'arrive pas comme prévue, déclare Jason Reddick, directeur de la production de Confederate. Les pièces de 3D Systems pour la G2 P51 sont arrivées dans l'ordre conformément à ce que nous avions demandé, en temps et en heure. Les horaires de fabrication du prototype ont été respectés. Il a même été terminé avant l'heure, dépassant nos prévisions de plusieurs jours. C'est le meilleur prototype jamais créé chez nous. »

Le processus QuickCutCNC utilisé par 3D Systems interprète la conception CAO du client et traduit les données vers les machines CNC haut de gamme. Le processus produit des pièces qui peuvent remplacer des prototypes réalisés en fabrication additive par de véritables matériaux de qualité de production.

La fabrication à la demande de 3D Systems utilise une installation de pointe pour la fabrication de tôlerie qui comprend le façonnage des métaux à intégration verticale, la découpe/le poinçonnage au laser, l’usinage CNC, la soudure et les cellules de finition. Des machines permettent de gérer à la fois les prototypes et les lots de production de boîtiers et de caissons en métal de haute qualité pour quasiment toutes les tailles.

Si 3D Systems ne peut pas produire la pièce, l'entreprise peut toujours aider à garantir la qualité, comme elle l'a déjà fait en fournissant les maîtres-modèles SLA pour les pièces de la P51 en fibre de carbone. 

« 3D Systems nous permet de concevoir des formes et des structures extraordinaires avec des matériaux solides, affirme Jordan Cornille. Les machines sont si précises qu’il a suffi de quelques modifications pour passer du prototype à la production. Les seuls ajustements effectués concernaient des retouches de conception de notre côté. »

Plaire aux critiques

La conception inspirée du dragster américain et la capacité de la G2 P51 Combat Fighter à fournir avec facilité un couple de 200 pieds-livres persuadent les critiques les plus perspicaces.

Dans sa critique du Cycle World, Paul d'Orleans fait l'éloge de l'esthétique intégrée de la P51, « qui habille son message de pur machisme… Confederate a fait ce qu'il était censé faire, attirant davantage l'attention des piétons qu'aucune des motos sur lesquelles je suis monté, avec une puissance remarquable et un bruit d'échappement incroyable, auxquels s'ajoute une apparence unique ».

Rédacteur pour Digital Trends, Andrew Hard a écrit : « Les véhicules de l'entreprise sont inspirés par un esprit pur et rebelle appelé l'American Way, créant des pièces à la fois brutes et élégantes, des œuvres d'art sur roues d'un style historique. »

Offrir une liberté de conception

Pour Matt Chambers et son équipe chez Confederate Motors, travailler avec 3D Systems ne constitue pas une simple collaboration, mais plutôt une source majeure de liberté, un critère que la société estime plus que tout.

« Je ne peux pas expliquer avec des mots à quel point être libre de faire ce pour quoi nous sommes réellement bons, c’est-à-dire la conception, vaut mieux que tout. Cela change tout notre programme, pas seulement en ce qui concerne les motos sur lesquelles nous travaillons en ce moment, mais pour les quatre ou cinq nouvelles conceptions de motos sur lesquelles nous travaillerons pendant les trois ou quatre prochaines années. »

Jordan Cornille considère les technologies et le savoir-faire de 3D Systems comme les principaux moteurs de stimulation de l'effervescence qui est au cœur même de Confederate Motors.

« Nous aimons prendre des décisions rapidement et réaliser des conceptions rapidement afin d'offrir à nos clients le plus de solutions possible dans un délai imparti. Nous ne produisons pas des milliers d'exemplaires pour chaque modèle, et 3D Systems nous permet de modifier régulièrement les conceptions sans avoir à investir des milliers de dollars en outillage. »

×

3D Systems On Demand Manufacturing service converts 140 different designs into prototypes and production parts for “integrated aesthetic” of P51 Combat Fighter motorcycle.

There’s a moment that every industrial designer dreads: When his or her ideal design bumps up against manufacturing reality.

Confederate Motors has faced that moment many times in the past, but not recently. Its collaboration with 3D Systems On Demand Manufacturing, Quickparts, has given the bespoke motorcycle company the ability to turn even its most wildly imaginative designs into physical reality.

The expected and unexpected

3D Systems provides Stereolithography (SLA) and Selective Laser Sintering (SLS) prototypes and molds that have accelerated product development and helped ensure quality for Confederate Motors. 

That type of 3D printing expertise is expected from 3D Systems. Less expected perhaps are jointly developed assembly kits comprising 140 different parts that 3D Systems manufactures on a just-in-time (JIT) basis using traditional CNC milling and sheet metal processes.

“Our relationship with 3D Systems is probably the best thing that’s happened to me since I’ve been in this business,” says Matt Chambers, founder and CEO of Confederate Motors. “It takes so much of the pressure off our small team and lets us focus on what we love to do, which is design the best possible bike imaginable.”

Partners in relentless innovation

Confederate Motors is a 25-year-old company that is unabashedly passionate about what it does—design and manufacture exclusive motorcycles in small batches of around  60 machines for each model version.

The company characterizes its design aesthetic as “bare, functional, scrupulous clarity, what we have hence dubbed skeletal minimalism.” The design process itself could be described as relentless innovation in its purest sense.

3D Systems On Demand Manufacturing is the perfect partner for a company that is constantly reinventing the notion of how a motorcycle should look and perform.

After discussing Confederate Motors’ needs and desires in initial meetings in late 2014, it was decided that the best value would come from 3D Systems providing a one-stop shop for hundreds of prototypes, molds and production parts. The parts range from the intake manifold to the key to start the motorcycle.

The chassis, steering and swing arm parts for the P51 Combat Fighter are all sourced and machined by 3D Systems. Carbon fiber parts—the front and back fenders, the exhaust shield and the chain guard—are manufactured from SLA patterns printed with Accura PEAK material on a 3D Systems SLA printer. 

“With the exception of some engine components, wiring, wheels, tires and lighting, 3D Systems makes every part of the Fighter,” says Jordan Cornille, designer at Confederate Motors. “We save a tremendous amount of time and hassle by being able to consolidate part production with one primary vendor. Parts go together better coming from the same vendor, and we can be assured that the part finish of everything will match.”

From prototype to production

Part accuracy and quality drives every 3D Systems process, beginning with prototype parts and extending through design revisions and final production parts.

“The thing that holds me up the most when we are prototyping is when a part doesn’t come in as advertised,” says Jason Reddick, Confederate’s production manager. “The 3D Systems parts for the G2 P51 came in as we asked for them, in the order in which we asked, on time. The prototype stayed on schedule and actually finished ahead of time, beating our projection by several days. This is the best prototype we’ve ever done.”

The QuickCutCNC process used by 3D Systems interprets the client’s CAD design and translates data to high-end CNC machines. The process produces parts that can replace the additive manufactured prototypes with true production-grade materials.

3D Systems On Demand Manufacturing has a state-of-the-art sheet metal fabrication facility that includes vertically integrated metal forming, laser cutting/punching, CNC machining, welding and finishing cells. There are machines to handle both prototype and production runs of high-quality sheet metal enclosures and housings of practically any size.

If 3D Systems cannot manufacture the part itself, it can still help ensure quality, as it did in supplying the SLA master patterns for the P51 carbon fiber parts. 

“3D Systems allows us to design extraordinary forms and shapes out of solid materials,” says Cornille. “The machines are so precise that there were very few changes to be made going from prototype to production. The only tweaks that were needed were design changes on our end.”

Pleasing the critics

The American drag-racing-inspired design and the ability of the G2 P51 Combat Fighter to effortlessly deliver 200 foot pounds of torque are opening the eyes of discerning critics.

In his Cycle World review, Paul d’Orleans praises the P51’s “integrated aesthetic, which hones its message of pure machismo...The Confederate did what it was designed to do, attracting more pedestrian attention than any motorcycle I’ve ever straddled, with an awesome power delivery and exhaust note, plus that unique aesthetic.”

Writing in Digital Trends, Andrew Hard says: “The company’s vehicles are inspired by a raw, rebel spirit it calls the American Way, resulting in creations that are equal parts brutish and dashing, rolling art pieces with historical flair.”

Delivering design freedom

For Matt Chambers and his team at Confederate Motors, working with 3D Systems is not just a collaboration, but a major source of freedom, something the company values above almost all else.

“It’s unfathomable for me to explain in words just how much better it is to be free to do something we are really great at, which is design. It’s changed our entire program, not just for the motorcycles we are working on now, but for the four or five new bike designs we’ll work on over the next three to four years.”

Jordan Cornille sees 3D Systems technologies and know-how as prime enablers in feeding the restlessness that’s at the heart of Confederate Motors.

“We like to move quickly in our decision-making processes and design quickly in order to offer our customers as many solutions as possible within a certain time frame. We don’t produce thousands of copies of each model, and 3D Systems allows us to change designs frequently without committing to thousands of dollars worth of tooling.”