自工业注塑成型开始以来,在模具表面保持均匀的温度始终是一个挑战。

为了保持恒温,制造商们使用了挡板、起泡器和热管;他们将层压板叠放在一起,将复杂的钻孔设备添加到模具中。

在过去的十年左右,随形冷却 - 设计自然按照生产部件轮廓的冷却通道 - 已被定位为控制注塑成型温度的解决方案。但是随形冷却为模具制造过程增加了新的设计和生产复杂性,超越了大多数车间的能力范围。
 

“坚实的方法论”

Bastech 是一家位于俄亥俄州的提供商,为车间、增材制造服务和设备销售提供单一来源解决方案,一直受温度问题困扰,但相信已经找到一种更简单、更高效、更经济的方法来进行随形冷却。公司的研究得力于其作为 3D Systems 授权黄金合作伙伴的地位,因而可以使用最新的 3D 打印技术和智能。

Bastech 在最近两项基准测试中记录的突出表现是基于 3D Systems 的 Cimatron™ 模具制作软件及其 ProX® 200 直接金属打印 (DMP) 系统。随形冷却模具设计的模拟是通过 Moldex3D 软件(3D Systems 的合作伙伴)完成的,完成的 DMP 模具使用 3D Systems Geomagic® Control 软件进行检验。

工艺代表端到端制造解决方案,轻松集成数字和物理世界,各个环节全部由 3D Systems 产品提供支持。

“使用功能强大的软件组合有助于充分利用 3D 打印功能,打印机为完全致密的金属部件提供光滑曲面和有限后处理,这样可以为建立定制冷却模具提供坚实的方法。”Bastech 的 CEO Ben Staub 这样表示。
 

自动化设计与分析

Bastech 的第一个基准比较了两个非常相似的部件在体积、尺寸和设计配置方面的差异。一个设计了随形型芯,然后进行 3D 打印;另一个设计了标准螺旋挡板结构,并采用传统方法进行制造。

随形冷却设计采用专业 CAD/CAM 软件 Cimatron,该软件涵盖整个模具制造周期,从设计报价、应用工程变更,以及数控与 EDM 编程。Cimatron 的最新版本引入冷却设计和分析功能,支持传统的钻孔冷却通道和使用 3D 打印技术制造的随形冷却通道。

通过与 Moldex3D 的紧密结合,注塑模具设计人员可以通过 Cimatron 自动进行充模分析,从而优化冷却通道布局。

“Cimatron 和 Moldex 相结合提供专家软件,帮助经验不足的工程师创造更优质的设计。”Staub 说,“这是一个主要的考虑因素,因为经验丰富的工具制造商正供不应求。”

“设计 3D 打印需要了解结构支撑设计,实现真正基于需求的设计,降低材料成本和建模时间。”Bastech 的工程经理 Scott Young 补充说,“这类专业知识内置在 Cimatron 软件中,方便我们的设计人员专注于设计,不用担心导航 CAD 包来定义复杂的内部通道。”
 

显著缩短时间与周期

Bastech 的第一个基准设计是锥形螺旋体,位于工业装配件的间隔圆锥的内侧。通过旋转泪珠状构造创建随形冷却通道,使得一侧平行于型芯的外表面,同时保持与其恒定的距离。通过沿锥形螺旋体操作横截面,Bastech 能够设计 ProX 200 可以在单次运行中构建的几何体。

3D 打印模具的设计花了两天时间,在 ProX 200 上进行构建用了三天时间。为了最大限度地提高生产率,Bastech 将模具的 3D 打印运行与其他 Bastech 项目所需的部件相结合。

ProX 200 是传统制造工艺的低价替代品,它能够减少浪费、提高生产速度、缩短设置时间、生产致密金属部件,并按单个部件来生产复杂的装配件。 

“这款工具可以提高我们的建模能力。”Staub 表示,“它为我们提供了更高水平的周转工具,并解决了车间的瓶颈问题。通过消除电火花加工和钻孔,大幅减少数控和抛光工作,每个模具可以节省 30-40 小时。”

对于逆流螺旋核心,Cimatron 软件的设计和分析与 ProX 200 上的 3D 打印相结合,节省了超过 40 小时的编程和车间加工时间。Young 认为,如果将所有成本考虑在内,3D 打印的核心要比传统方法节省 1,765 美元 (18%)。

更重要的是,随形冷却模具在整个运行中能够保持较低的温度,并将循环时间缩短 22%。

“循环时间几乎是注塑成型中最重要的要素,能够持续控制温度保持稳定。”Staub 这样表示。

“我们保持温度的稳定性越高,就越可以确保塑造出始终如一的优质部件。”Young 说,“消除由于温度变化而产生的扭曲并缩短循环时间,从而极大地提高性能。”

基准结果:挡板与随形型芯
新建窗口
无效

型芯以外的节省

在第二项基准中,Bastech 不限于随形型芯,为 3D 打印设计完整的型芯、型腔和斜顶模组。在这种情况下,目标是在传统设计和随形设计之间保持温度恒定 (110F),以了解其如何影响冷却和循环时间结果。

编程、加工和抛光环节又一次节省了大量时间,随形冷却设计中完全消除了 EDM。Cimatron 软件中的自动化将随形冷却模具的设计时间从 30 小时缩短到仅 7 小时。3D 打印模具总共节省 2505 美元,即 16%。

冷却时间从传统模具的 10.5 秒降低到随形模具的 7.5 秒,所有重要的循环时间缩短了 14%。

“虽然传统冷却和随形冷却设计的温度相同,但随形设计表面积更大,能够汇聚更多的液体,从而使冷却模具更有效率。”Young 这样表示。

基准结果:传统与随形型芯
新建窗口
无效

主要底线影响 

“一直以来,我们都在不断追求更好的冷却技术。”Young 说,“我们现在借助这款软件,帮助模具制造商在如何设置型腔、型芯和镶件方面更好地做出决策,然后使用直接金属 3D 打印将其变为现实。“

“使用传统的冷却进行注塑成型并非完美无缺。”Staub 认为,“只能在某些地方钻孔,无法像专为 3D 打印设计的随形冷却一样在通道上打造弯孔。现在我们不必在随形冷却设计中轻易妥协。”

Bastech 通过俄亥俄州和代顿大学研究所的授权购买了 ProX 200 DMP 系统,这样一来,公司的使命就涵盖与工业界共享成果。Staub 希望 Bastech 的基准成果能够向各种规模的车间展示:坚实的端到端解决方案可以实现随形冷却。

“很多工模具制造商都需要采用这些 3D 技术来改善他们的车间。“他表示,“我们希望分享成功经验,这样不仅其他车间可以亲眼见证成功,而且能够对底线产生重大影响。”

CHALLENGE

Maintain even temperatures using conformally-cooled injection molds.

SOLUTION

  • Cimatron® integrated CAD/CAM software by 3D Systems
  • Geomagic® Control X™ inspection and metrology software by 3D Systems
  • LaserForm® 17-4PH (B) stainless steel material by 3D Systems
  • Moldex3D® plastic injection molding simulation software
  • ProX® DMP 200 metal 3D printer by 3D Systems

RESULTS

  • Reduced injection molding cycle times by 22%.
  • Eliminated 30-40 hours of mold post-processing time.
  • Reduced costs by 18%.

Since the inception of industrial injection molding, keeping an even temperature on the surface of the mold has been a constant challenge.

In their quest to maintain even temperatures, manufacturers have used baffles, bubbles, and heat pipes; they have laminated blocks together and added complex drilling setups to their molds.

Over the last decade or so, conformal cooling—designing cooling channels that naturally follow the contours of a part—has been positioned as a solution for controlling injection-molding temperatures. But conformal cooling adds new layers of design and production complexity to the mold-making process, placing it beyond the means of most shops.

Rock-Solid Methodology

Bastech—an Ohio-based, one-source solution provider for shop floor, additive manufacturing services, and equipment sales—has wrestled with temperature issues, but believes it has found a way to introduce a new level of simplicity, efficiency, and economy to conformal cooling. Its research is aided by its status as a 3D Systems Authorized Gold Partner, giving it access to the latest 3D printing technologies and intelligence.

The Bastech breakthrough, documented in two recent benchmark tests, is based on Cimatron CAD/CAM software and the ProX DMP 200 3D printer. Bastech performs simulations for the conformal cooling mold designs using Moldex3D software, a 3D Systems partner, and inspects the completed direct metal printing (DMP) molds using Geomagic Control X inspection and metrology software.

The process represents an end-to-end manufacturing solution with easy integration between the digital and physical worlds, all powered by 3D Systems products.

"The combination of powerful software designed to leverage the full capabilities of 3D printing with printers that deliver a fully dense metal part with smooth surfaces and limited post processing provides a rock-solid methodology for building customized cooling molds," says Bastech CEO Ben Staub.

Design and Analysis Automation

The first Bastech benchmark compared two very similar parts in terms of volume, size, and design configuration. Bastech designed one with a conformal core and then 3D printed the part; it designed the other with a standard spiral baffle configuration and manufactured the part conventionally.

Bastech created the conformal cooling design with Cimatron software that covers the entire mold-making cycle—from quoting, to design, to applying engineering changes, to NC and EDM programming. Cimatron includes cooling design and analysis capabilities that support both traditionally drilled cooling channels and conformal cooling channels for manufacturing using 3D printing technologies.

Through close integration with Moldex3D, injection mold designers working in Cimatron have the ability to perform automated mold-filling analysis to optimize cooling channel layout.

"The combination of Cimatron and Moldex delivers expert software to help less-experienced engineers create better-quality designs," says Staub. "This is a major consideration as the demand for experienced toolmakers is much larger than the dwindling supply."

"Designing for 3D printing requires an understanding of structural support design to accomplish true requirement-based design as well as reducing material cost and build time," adds Bastech engineering manager Scott Young. "This type of expertise is built within the Cimatron software, which enables our designers to think about design without worrying about navigating through the CAD package to define complex internal channels."

Time and Cycle Savings

The Bastech design for the first benchmark was a tapered helix positioned on the inside of a spacing cone used for industrial assemblies. It created conformal cooling channels by rotating a teardrop configuration so that one side was parallel to the outer surface of the core while maintaining a constant distance from it. By running the cross-section along a tapered helix, Bastech designed geometry that the ProX DMP 200 could build in a single run.

The mold design took two days and was 3D printed on the ProX DMP 200 in three days. To maximize its productivity, Bastech combined the 3D print run for the mold with parts required for other Bastech projects.

The ProX DMP 200 is a cost-effective alternative to traditional manufacturing processes, offering reduced waste, greater speeds for production, short setup times, very dense metal parts, and the ability to produce complex assemblies as a single part. 

"It's a tool that enhances our capabilities on the molding side," says Staub. "It gives us higher turnaround tooling and solves bottleneck problems in the shop. We can save 30-40 hours per mold by eliminating EDM and drilling and drastically reducing CNC and polishing work."

For the reverse-flow helix core, the design and analysis in Cimatron software combined with 3D printing on the ProX DMP 200 saved more than 40 hours of programming and shop time. When all costs were taken into consideration, the 3D-printed core yielded a net savings of US$1,765 (18 percent) over conventional methods, according to Young.

More importantly, the conformal cooling mold maintained a lower temperature throughout the run and reduced cycle time by 22 percent.

"Cycle time is nearly everything in injection molding, with the ability to consistently control temperature a close second," says Staub.

"The more consistently we can hold temperature, the more consistently we can mold quality parts," says Young. "Eliminating warping due to temperature variation and lowering cycle time represent huge performance gains."

2 parts that were created by conformal cooling methods

Savings Beyond the Core

In a second benchmark, Bastech went beyond the conformal core to design a complete core, cavity, and slide-mold set for 3D printing. In this case, the goal was to maintain the same temperature (110F) between the conventional and conformal designs to see how it would affect cooling and cycle time results.

Once again, Bastech recorded major time savings for programming, machining, and polishing, and completely eliminated EDM in the conformal cooling design. Automation within Cimatron software reduced design time from 30 hours to just seven for the conformal cooling mold. Total cost savings for the 3D-printed mold was US$2,505, a 16 percent savings.

Cooling time was reduced from 10.5 seconds for the conventional mold to 7.5 seconds for the conformal mold, and the all-important cycle time was reduced by 14 percent.

"Even though the temperature remained the same for both the conventional and the conformal cooling designs, the conformal design forced more liquid through a greater surface area, making it more efficient in cooling the mold," says Young.

Major Bottom-Line Impact 

"The desire for better cooling techniques has been hanging out there for a long, long time," says Young. "We now have the software to help mold makers make better decisions about how to set up their cavities, cores, and inserts, then bring them into reality with direct metal 3D printing."

"With traditional cooling for injection molding, there is no perfect situation," says Staub. "You can only drill holes in certain places, and you can't curve holes around channels like you can with conformal cooling designed for 3D printing. Now we no longer have to accept compromises in conformal cooling designs."

Bastech purchased the ProX DMP 200 printer through a grant from the state of Ohio and the University of Dayton Research Institute, so part of its mission is to share results with the industrial community. Staub hopes that the Bastech benchmark efforts will show shops of all sizes that there are solid, end-to-end solutions available to achieve conformal cooling.

"A lot of toolmakers will need to adopt these 3D technologies to improve their shops," he says. "We want to share our successes so other shops can see that it not only can be done, but it can be done in a way that has a major impact on your bottom line."