当 Mark Weimer 经历重大脊柱手术后,从缓解疼痛的药物中苏醒,他没有考虑术后应该是什么样的感觉,而是想到了术后他不再感受到的:从下脊柱弥漫出来的四头肌疼痛,这已困扰了他一年半的时间。

George Frey 医生经过 15 小时的手术缓解了患者的病痛,这次手术结合了屡获殊荣的椎弓根钉内固术和 3D Systems 领先的 3D 成像和打印技术。

为了病人精诚协作

Frey 医生和他的妻子 Heidi 在科罗拉多州恩格尔伍德市创办了 Mighty Oak Medical 公司。公司的 FIREFLY® 专利技术提供了一种更简单、更快速的方法来精确地放置椎弓根螺钉,从而进行脊柱修复,同时围绕关键解剖结构(如脊髓、神经和血管)进行导航。

从一开始,Mighty Oak 就与科罗拉多州利特尔顿附近的 3D Systems 医疗保健团队达成了合作。

“我们需要一位 3D 打印伙伴,这位伙伴必须确保质量和可靠性,并在医疗设备领域有丰富的专业经验。”Heidi Frey 这样表示,“3D Systems 在任何层面都是非常好的合作伙伴,他们积极支持响应,也致力于创造卓越。”

3D Systems 提供全套端到端的精密医疗保健解决方案,包括虚拟现实模拟器、3D 打印解剖模型和患者特定的手术导轨及仪器。公司还生产精密 3D 打印医疗器械。

自 1990 年代后期以来,3D Systems 与代表人类解剖各方面的各类医疗器械供应商合作。公司已为超过 100,000 万台手术治疗研发了个性化的解决方案。

3D printed spine reference model used in the surgery
A personalized anatomical model printed on a 3D Systems SLA (stereolithography) ProX 800 3D printer was used for reference during Mark Weimer's spinal operation.

冠军之路

Frey 医生通过 Mark Weimer 的神经外科医生联系到他。自 1984 年 Weimer 从施工脚手架上摔下,导致身体部分瘫痪后,这位神经外科医生就开始为他治疗。2001 年 Weimer 接受了一次额外的脊柱融合手术,这是为了帮助矫正他右臂肌肉无力的症状。

在受伤和初次手术后,Weimer 利用计算机培训基金成为数据仓库领域的 IT 专家。同时他还继续追求所热爱的冰球,并于 1996 年加入科罗拉多州雪橇冰球项目。

2000 年,Weimer 在普莱西德湖村效力于国家冰球队。1980 年的冬奥会上,在这个地方,美国冰球队击败俄罗斯队,取得了著名的“冰上奇迹”胜利。2010 年,他率领团队赢得了由美国冰球联盟 (NHL) 发起的冰球比赛冠军赛。随后一年,他作为科罗拉多雪橇冰球队的明星球员,又赢得了美国冰球协会发起的 2011 届国家冰球锦标赛冠军。

Weimer 于 2011 年冠军赛中进球并助攻得分,随后退役。他转职训练年轻的冰球选手,并通过手轮车运动保持身材。他的冰球成就得到认可,于 2012 年进入科罗拉多自适应运动基金会名人堂。

Mark Weimer 多次赢得雪橇冰球冠军,成为科罗拉多州自适应运动基金会名人堂的明星。
Mark Weimer 多次赢得雪橇冰球冠军,成为科罗拉多州自适应运动基金会名人堂的明星。

异常复杂的病例

自发生事故以来,Weimer 一直经受着一定程度的神经和脊柱不适,但在 2014 年底,他开始出现一些新症状:四肢肌肉严重疼痛,并伴有肠道和膀胱问题。Weimer 的神经外科医生将他介绍给 Frey 医生接受进一步检查。

“随着时间的推移,Mark 的脊柱融合术和神经疾病造成椎间融合以下的椎间盘和腰椎体恶化。”Frey 医生表示,“这使得神经和脊柱遭受进一步压迫,导致严重的神经性疼痛。”

手术准备工作的第一步就是为 Weimer 的脊柱做 CT 扫描。扫描结果发送给 3D Systems,Weimer 的脊柱结构通过数据切割以 3D 形式呈现。

根据 Frey 医生和 3D Systems 医疗服务负责人 Chris Beaudreau 的说法,Weimer 的病例比其他大多数脊柱手术更为复杂。

“Mark 之前手术的植入体上发生了骨增生的情况。”Frey 医生表示,“尽管植入体已经被移除,但是对周围骨骼的破坏可能影响到 FIREFLY 导轨的放置,所以需要大量的筹备工作才能进行手术。”

“之前的外科手术发现 CT 扫描中有明显的成像伪影,为了将关注的解剖区域呈现为三维数字化模型,我们需要大量的医学图像处理。”Beaudreau 表示,“这也是一场大型的脊柱手术,因此我们不是对两三块椎骨进行建模,而是需要处理九根椎骨、脊柱底部的骶骨和两侧髋部。”

解剖模型比较
这些效果图展示了用于定位螺钉的定制型病患专用导轨,目的是使手术更安全地避开关键和复杂的脊柱结构。为了 Mark Weimer 的手术,总共制作了 10 块导轨,每一块都专用于特定的椎骨体。一旦导轨处在适当位置,螺钉的放置就有高度的精准性。

左图展示在手术元件放置前,手术导轨放在患者骨骼结构合适的位置。

右图展示术后手术元件放置的情况。

3D 打印量身定制

3D Systems 将 Weimer 脊柱解剖的 3D 模型发送给 Mighty Oak Medical,后者将其用于设计每个椎弓根螺钉的轨迹,以便准备 3D 打印导轨,导轨可以决定螺钉如何精确放置于 Weimer 的脊柱。

利用 FIREFLY 设计,3D Systems 为每块需要手术的椎骨打印了椎弓根螺钉导轨。同时也为术前规划打印了骨骼解剖模型,用于手术参考。

手术导轨和骨骼模型都是通过 3D Systems ProX® 800 打印而成,这是一个立体光固化成型印刷 (SLA) 系统,以创建的部件表面光洁度佳、特征分辨率高、边缘清晰且容差强而著称。

SLA 技术由 3D Systems 创始人 Chuck Hull 于 1983 年发明。公司始终致力于技术创新,降低成本的同时提供速度更快、产量更大、精度更高和更易使用的产品。

ProX 800 材料选择范围广,可提供最大范围的应用。关于 Weimer 的参考模型和螺钉导轨,3D Systems 使用一种塑料材料和验证工艺,使打印件经过消毒后可直接在手术室中使用。
 

手术的成功与康复

Frey 医生于 2016 年 7 月 22 日在恩格尔伍德的瑞典医疗中心为 Mark Weimer 进行手术。当 Weimer 恢复意识时,最近困扰他的疼痛已经消失,先前的痛苦也大大减轻。

Frey 医生说:“Mark 正在接受一个缜密的康复过程,术后恢复非常不错。”他推测这个康复周期将持续一年。

Weimer 以 63 岁的年龄继续活跃在 IT 界,并且在业余时间继续进行手轮车运动。他还非常享受与 2 个孙子在一起的天伦之乐,一个 9 岁,一个 13 岁,并对他们成为下一代冰球场冠军寄予厚望。

When Mark Weimer emerged from the fog of pain medication after major spinal surgery, he didn't think about how he was feeling. He thought about what he wasn't feeling: the pain in his quad muscles, emanating from his lower spine, that had plagued him for a year and a half.

The relief was the result of a 15-hour operation by Dr. George Frey that combined his award winning methodology for pedicle screw navigation with 3D imaging and printing technologies pioneered by 3D Systems.

Partnering for the patient's benefit

Dr. Frey and his wife, Heidi, head up Mighty Oak Medical in Englewood, Colorado. The company's patented FIREFLY® technology provides a simpler and faster way to accurately place pedicle screws for spinal repair while navigating around crucial anatomy such as the spinal cord, nerves and blood vessels.

From the beginning, Mighty Oak has teamed with the 3D Systems Healthcare Team in nearby Littleton, Colorado.

"We needed a 3D printing partner that was known for quality, reliability and expertise in the medical device space," says Heidi Frey. "3D Systems has been an amazing partner at every level—they are supportive, responsive and dedicated to excellence."

3D Systems offers an end-to-end suite of precision healthcare solutions, including virtual reality simulators, 3D printed anatomical models, and patient-specific surgical guides and instrumentation. The company also manufactures precision 3D printed medical devices.

Since the late 1990s, 3D Systems has partnered with medical device providers representing a wide variety of procedures for nearly every aspect of human anatomy. The company has developed personalized solutions for more than 100,000 surgical procedures.

3D printed spine reference model used in the surgery
A personalized anatomical model printed on a 3D Systems SLA (stereolithography) ProX 800 3D printer was used for reference during Mark Weimer's spinal operation.

Path of a champion

Dr. Frey was connected to Mark Weimer through his neuro surgeon who has treated Weimer since his initial operation after a fall from construction scaffolding partially paralyzed him in 1984. Weimer later underwent an additional spinal fusion surgery in 2001 to help correct loss of muscle strength in his right arm.

Following his injury and initial surgery, Weimer took advantage of a computer training grant to become an IT specialist in data warehousing. He also continued to pursue his love of hockey, joining a Colorado sled hockey program in 1996.

Weimer played on the 2000 national sled hockey team in Lake Placid, home of the famous "Miracle on Ice" victory of the U.S. hockey team over Russia in the 1980 Winter Olympics. In 2010, he captained the team that won the Sled Classic Championship sponsored by the National Hockey League (NHL), and the following year he starred on the Colorado Avalanche team that captured the 2011 National Sled Hockey Championship sponsored by USA Hockey.

Weimer retired after scoring a goal and an assist in the 2011 championship. He turned to coaching young sled hockey players and has stayed in shape by hand cycling. His hockey achievements were recognized by his induction into the Colorado Adaptive Sports Foundation Hall of Fame in 2012.

Mark Weimer won multiple sled hockey championships on his way to the Colorado Adaptive Sports Foundation Hall of Fame.
Mark Weimer won multiple sled hockey championships on his way to the Colorado Adaptive Sports Foundation Hall of Fame.

A complicated case

Since his accident, Weimer had always dealt with some level of nerve and spinal discomfort, but in late 2014 he started experiencing something new: severe pain in his quad muscles, along with bowel and bladder problems. Weimer’s neurosurgeon referred him to Dr. Frey for further examination.

"As the years went by, Mark's spinal fusion and his neurological condition caused the remaining discs and vertebrae below the fusion to deteriorate," says Dr. Frey. "This caused further compression of the nerves and spinal cord, resulting in severe neuropathic pain."

Preparation for surgery started with a CT scan of Weimer's spine. The results were sent to 3D Systems, which performed data segmentation to extract a 3D representation of Weimer’s spinal anatomy.

Weimer's case was more complex than most other spinal procedures, according to Dr. Frey and Chris Beaudreau, Director of Medical Services at 3D Systems.

"Mark had bone growth over the rods inserted from his previous surgery," says Dr. Frey. "Although the rods were being removed, any disruption to the surrounding bone could affect the placement of the FIREFLY guides, so plenty of planning was needed to work around the anatomy."

"Due to his previous surgical procedures, there were significant imaging artifacts within the CT scan that required extensive medical image processing in order to render the anatomical area of interest into three-dimensional digital models," says Beaudreau. "It was also going to be an extensive spinal procedure, so instead of modeling two or three vertebrae, we needed to process nine vertebrae, the sacrum bone at the base of the spine, and both hips."

Anatomical Model Comparison
The renderings show custom, patient-specific guides for screw placement that allow the surgeon to safely avoid vital, complex spinal anatomy. In total, 10 guides were manufactured for Mark Weimer's operation, each designed for a specific vertebral body. Once guides are in position, screws can be placed with a high degree of accuracy.

The image on the left shows the surgical guides in place on the patient's anatomy, before the hardware was affixed.

The image on the right shows the post-operative placement of the spinal hardware.

3D printing from the source

3D Systems sent the 3D models of Weimer's spinal anatomy to Mighty Oak Medical, which used them to design the trajectory of each pedicle screw and to prepare the 3D printed guides that would determine accurate screw placement on Weimer's spine.

Using the FIREFLY design, 3D Systems printed pedicle screw guides for each vertebra that required operation. An anatomical bone model was also printed for pre-surgical planning and reference in the operating room.

The surgical guides and bone models were printed on a 3D Systems ProX® 800, a stereolithography (SLA) system known for building parts with outstanding surface smoothness, feature resolution, edge definition and tolerances.

SLA technology was invented by 3D Systems co-founder Chuck Hull in 1983. The company continues to innovate with the technology, lowering costs while delivering ever-greater speed, capacity, accuracy and ease-of-use.

The ProX 800 offers a wide range of materials for the broadest applications and use cases. For Weimer's reference model and screw guides, 3D Systems used a plastic material and validated process that allows parts to be sterilized for use directly in the operating room.
 

Surgical success and recovery

Dr. Frey operated on Mark Weimer at Swedish Medical Center in Englewood on July 22, 2016. When Weimer resumed consciousness, his most recent pains were gone and previous pains had lessened considerably.

"Mark is currently undergoing a rigorous rehabilitative process and is recovering nicely from his fusion surgery," says Dr. Frey, who expects the recovery period to last about a year.

At 63, Weimer continues to work in the IT field and pursue hand cycling in his free time. He also enjoys watching his grandsons, ages 9 and 13, take his place on the ice as the next generation of champions.