名为“SMall Innovative Launcher for Europe”(又名 SMILE 项目)的欧盟 (EU) Horizon 2020 项目旨在设计小型卫星运载火箭,以将小型卫星(重达 150 千克)发送到 500 公里的太阳同步轨道。德国航天中心(Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt,简称 DLR)结构与设计研究所位于德国斯图加特,是十四个参与组织之一,他们负责开发用于 SMILE 项目运载火箭的液态/液态火箭引擎喷射器。由于液态推进系统具有巨大的翻新和再利用潜力,因此该研究所着重研究液态推进系统,从而为小型卫星运载火箭打造更具成本效益的解决方案。

由于火箭液氧 (LOX)/焦油引擎的喷射器头部组件极为复杂,DLR 与 3D Systems 位于比利时鲁汶的客户创新中心 (CIC) 合作,以设计 3D 打印喷射器,从而实现全新的可能性和性能。3D Systems 位于鲁汶的 CIC 是我们的四家全球服务中心之一,旨在为客户提供产品开发、验证和商业化所需的资源,从而加快高级应用开发。

金属 3D 打印 EU Horizon 20/20 SMILE 项目的液态火箭引擎喷射器
金属打印的喷射器头可实现 30:1 的部件数量减少比例,并且重量减轻 10%。

携手合作,共创成功

通过选择 3D 打印其同轴喷射器头,DLR 希望获益于增材制造的几个关键优势,包括采用一体式设计而实现部件数量减少,以及集成冷却通道等多个重要功能,以便整体推进系统提供更佳性能。

在 DLR,Markus Kuhn 和 Ilja Müller 负责管理喷射器头项目,他们表示,鉴于 3D Systems 在航天应用金属 3D 打印领域的成功经验,他们最终选择了这家 3D 打印公司作为合作伙伴。“鉴于涉及 DMP 的航空相关计划获得了成功,我们认为,3D Systems 非常适合为我们提供喷射器头的制造设计方面帮助,同时他们也能在传感器集成和燃料及冷却液分布方面实现新的可能性,”Kuhn 说道。

SMILE 项目运载火箭点火测试
3D 打印喷射器头的点火测试显示其具有良好的混合和燃烧效率。

优化燃料喷射器设计以及减少部件数量

火箭喷射器的作用是让燃料和氧化剂由此进入燃烧室。成功的液态火箭燃料喷射器可在确保燃料和氧化剂原子化并正确混合的情况下排出这些材料,从而产生所需的燃烧状态,以推动火箭发射升空。

根据 3D Systems 项目工程师 Koen Huybrechts 所言,DLR 设想的液态燃料喷射器头包括性能增强的多项功能,这些独特的功能通过使用 DMP 进行 3D 打印而实现:“我们对优化性能和冷却的需求,压力和温度传感器通道的设计复杂性,以及通过一致、简单可重复的流程来简化装配和生产的期望,所有这些都说明我们采用 ProX® DMP 320 是不二之选,”Huybrechts 说道。

利用 DMP 实现的金属 3D 打印可帮助 DLR:

  • 通过新的燃料及冷却液分布可能性来优化部件性能;
  • 轻松实施 3D 路径的压力和温度传感器通道;
  • 消除中间生产和装配步骤;
  • 优化热性能、质量和液压性能而互不影响,不受传统制造方法的限制;
  • 采用一体式设计,从而避免装配错误点,并且提高质量;
  • 减少机械加工步骤,从而生产高度集成的多功能喷射器。

通过使用金属 3D 打印,DLR 可以彻底改变其同轴喷射器的设计方法,并且不再需要多个子组件,从而大幅缩短生产时间,降低了成本。部件数量从 30 个减少到一个,从而减少了 10% 的最终重量,并且消除了紧固位置上的已知故障点,进而简化了质量控制措施并改进了系统性能。

DMP 打印的液态火箭引擎喷射器 3D 模型横截面以及流量
喷射器头流量:蓝色 = 液氧;橙色 = 焦油;红色 = 薄膜层;绿色 = 发散冷却。

利用精确金属打印来整合部件

3D Systems 的应用工程师使用 3DXpert™ 来准备打印所需的喷射器头文件。3DXpert 是一款一体化软件,涵盖整个金属增材制造流程。3D Systems 进行了预打印操作来改进后处理过程中的粉末清除流程,并且检查打印可行性,以确保部件正常构建,不出现复杂问题。

最终部件在 3D Systems 位于鲁汶的 CIC 打印,由 3D Systems ProX DMP 320 金属打印机完成,采用 LaserForm® Ni718 (A) 和抗氧化、耐腐蚀的铬镍铁合金打印。LaserForm Ni718 (A) 在最高 700℃ 的低温温度下具有卓越的抗张强度、耐疲劳性、抗蠕变性和断裂强度,因此,十分适合高温应用。

打印完成后,3D Systems 团队从部件内部清除了未使用的材料,对部件进行了热处理以释放应力,然后使用有线电火花机 (EDM) 将部件从建模板上取下。

液态火箭引擎发射器组件
利用 3D 打印喷射器(合作伙伴:3D Systems)和陶瓷燃烧室来设置液氧/焦油火箭引擎。

免工具生产可加快设计周期

凭借 3D Systems 在增材制造方面的专业知识和 DMP,DLR 能够快速合作并研究设计更改,无需进行耗时的工具加工。这对于 DLR 的设计循环而言十分重要,因为喷射器头原型第一阶段设计和测试所要求的交付时间仅数周。

“将 ProX DMP 320 与 3D Systems 在 3D 打印设计方面的专业知识相结合,这帮助我们在较短时间内对多个设计方案进行了测试,”Kuhn 和 Müller 表示。

金属 3D 打印使 DLR 能将同轴喷射器技术与双旋流喷射器元件仪器使用,从而优化了喷射器头中氧化剂与燃料的混合。DLR 采用了两种不同的冷却解决方案,每种解决方案都采用了精细通道,最小形体尺寸为 0.2 毫米,最大长度/直径比为 45。该设计还在喷射器头集成了薄膜层,可帮助工程师直接调节喷射器的薄膜质量流速。

查看金属 3D 打印喷射器头设计内部
喷射器头内部视图展示了金属 3D 打印可实现的复杂性。

性能更佳,成本更低

DLR 直接将冷却剂分布系统集成至喷射器,以此进一步实现了更多性能增强,从而帮助工程师实施并独立控制壁面发散和薄膜冷却技术。在喷射器内使用冷却剂时,燃烧室的高温内侧会形成冷却剂薄膜,保护壁结构不受高温流体影响。与传统的再生冷却相比,此类型的系统通常更易于制造,并且成本更低。

通过使用 DLR 和 3D Systems 开发的设计和制造方法,以及陶纤维矩阵复合材料(CMC) 等复杂的陶瓷材料,针对喷射器头开发的结构和系统有可能实现多次重复使用,并且有可能将相关技术转移到其他应用。

为了评估新设计,DLR 对内部流动进行了数值模拟,以估算每个推进剂在进料管道中的燃料分布以及相关压力损失。随后进行了冷流测试,测试显示数值测量数据和试验测试数据之间相关性良好。最终的 3D 打印喷射器头在西班牙的 PLD Space(SMILE 项目的另一合作伙伴)进行了点火测试,测试显示,采用 DLR 设计的火箭推力室装配件可实现良好的混合效率和燃烧效率。

展望未来,利用金属打印实现的新设计和制造流程有望继续提供高度的几何形状灵活性,减少生产步骤以加快上市时间,优化材料和部件使用,持续改进性能,并且提高结构完整性,从而延长喷射器使用寿命。

“我认为我们完全可以说,3D 打印的喷射器头集成的功能十分卓越,并且与先进的、利用传统方法制造的同等部件相比,3D 打印部件的生产时间更短,成本更低。”Müller 说道。

航天金属增材制造

由于金属 3D 打印的好处完全符合航空航天领域中众多关键的优先考虑事项(包括减轻部件重量、节约燃料、提高运行效率、部件整合、加快上市时间、减少储存要求等),因此,金属 3D 打印已经建立了作为该行业重要技术的优势。

众多近期项目可证明 3D Systems 的 DMP 技术在航天市场中颇有成效,其中包括:

欢迎联系我们,了解有关 DMP 的更多信息,以便为您的应用带来帮助。

A European Union (EU) Horizon 2020 project called “SMall Innovative Launcher for Europe” (also known as the SMILE Project) aims to design a small satellite launch vehicle to deliver small satellites (up to 150 kg) into a 500 km sun-synchronous orbit. The German Aerospace Center (Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt, or DLR) Institute of Structures and Design, based in Stuttgart, Germany, is one of fourteen participating organizations, and is responsible for developing a liquid/liquid rocket engine injector for the SMILE Project launcher. The Institute’s focus on a liquid propulsion system is due to the potential for system refurbishment and reuse, therefore offering a more cost-efficient solution for small satellite launchers.

In light of the high complexity of the injector head component of its liquid oxygen (LOX)/kerosene engine, DLR partnered with 3D Systems’ Customer Innovation Center (CIC) in Leuven, Belgium, to design a 3D printed injector that enables new possibilities and performance. 3D Systems’ Leuven CIC is one of four worldwide centers dedicated to accelerating advanced applications by providing customers with access to the resources necessary to develop, validate and commercialize their products.

Metal 3D printed liquid rocket engine injector for EU Horizon 20/20 SMILE Project
New window
False
The metal printed injector head features a 30:1 parts count reduction and 10% weight reduction.

Partnering for success

By opting to 3D print its coaxial injector head, DLR sought to take advantage of several key benefits of additive manufacturing, including parts count reduction with a monolithic design as well as integrating key features such as cooling channels for better performance of the overall propulsion system.

Markus Kuhn and Ilja Müller manage the injector head project at DLR, and say they selected 3D Systems as a partner given the 3D printing company’s successful track record in metal 3D printing for aerospace applications. "Based on the success of space related initiatives involving DMP, we thought that 3D Systems was perfectly suited for providing the design-for-manufacturing aspects of the injector head, with an eye on new possibilities for sensor integration and fuel and coolant distribution," says Kuhn.

Hot fire test of SMILE Project launcher
New window
False
Hot-fire testing of the 3D printed injector head showed good mixing and combustion efficiencies.

Optimizing fuel injector design and reducing part count

The injector of a rocket is the part from which the fuel and oxidizer enter into the combustion chamber. A successful liquid rocket fuel injector expels these components in a manner that ensures they atomize and mix properly to produce the combustion required to move the rocket.

According to Koen Huybrechts, a project engineer for 3D Systems, the liquid-fueled injector head envisioned by DLR includes several performance-enhancing features that were uniquely enabled by 3D printing with DMP: "The need for optimized performance and cooling, the design complexity of the pressure and temperature sensor channels, and the desire to simplify assembly and production with consistent, easily repeatable processes all pointed to the ProX® DMP 320," says Huybrechts.

Metal 3D printing with DMP enabled DLR to:

  • Optimize part performance via new opportunities for fuel and coolant distribution;
  • Easy implement 3D-pathed pressure and temperature sensor channels;
  • Eliminate intermediate production and assembly steps;
  • Independently optimize thermal, mass and hydraulic performance without the restrictions of traditional fabrication methods;
  • Avoid assembly failure points and enhance quality aspects with a monolithic design;
  • Reduce machining steps to produce a highly integrated and multifunctional injector. 

By using metal 3D printing, DLR was able to drastically change the design methodology of its coaxial injectors and avoid the need for multiple subcomponents, which contributed to significantly lowered production time and cost. A parts count reduction from 30 to one contributed to a final weight reduction of ten-percent and removed known points of failure at fastening sites to alleviate related quality control measures and improve system performance.

3D model cross-section of DMP printed liquid rocket engine injector with flow volumes
New window
False
Injector head flow volumes: blue = LOX; orange = kerosene; red = film layer; green = transpiration cooling.

Consolidating parts with precision metal printing

3D Systems’ application engineers used 3DXpert™ to prepare the injector head file for printing. 3DXpert is an all-in-one software that covers the entire metal additive manufacturing process. 3D Systems performed pre-printing operations to facilitate powder removal in post-processing, as well as a printability check to ensure the part would build without complication.

The final part was printed at 3D Systems’ Leuven CIC on a 3D Systems ProX DMP 320 metal printer in LaserForm® Ni718 (A), an oxidation and corrosion-resistant Inconel alloy. LaserForm Ni718 (A) is characterized by good tensile, fatigue, creep and rupture strength at cryogenic temperatures up to 700˚C, and is therefore ideal for high temperature applications.

Once printed, 3D Systems’ team removed unused material from the part’s interior, heat-treated the part for stress relief, and removed the part from the build plate using wire Electrical Discharge Machining (EDM).

Components of liquid rocket engine injector
New window
False
Setup of LOX/kerosene rocket engine with 3D printed injector (partner: 3D Systems) and ceramic combustion chamber.

Tool-less production accelerates design cycle

With 3D Systems’ additive manufacturing expertise and DMP, DLR was able to quickly incorporate and explore design changes without the need for time-consuming tooling. This capability was critical to DLR’s design cycle, since it faced lead times of only a few weeks for phase one design and testing of the injector head prototype.

"The combination of the ProX DMP 320 and 3D Systems' knowledge of design for 3D printing made it possible for us to test more design options in much less time," say Kuhn and Müller.

Metal 3D printing enabled DLR to apply coaxial injection techniques with a double-swirl injector element to optimize the oxidizer-fuel mixing of the injector head. Two different cooling solutions were implemented, each using fine channels with minimum feature sizes of 0.2 mm and maximum length/diameter ratios of 45. The design also integrates a film-laying feature in the injector head, enabling engineers to adjust the film mass flow rate directly at the injector.

View inside metal 3D printed injector head design
New window
False
A view inside the injector head shows the complexity enabled by metal 3D printing.

Greater performance at lower costs

DLR unlocked additional performance enhancements by directly integrating a coolant distribution system with the injector, allowing engineers to implement and independently control wall transpiration and film cooling techniques. When applied within the injector, a coolant film forms on the hot inner side of the combustion chamber that protects the wall structure from high heat fluxes. This type of system is considered much easier and cheaper to manufacture than classical regenerative cooling.

Together with sophisticated ceramic materials like ceramic fiber matrix composites (CMCs), the design and manufacturing approach developed by DLR and 3D Systems could potentially enable the structures and systems developed for the injector head to be reused multiple times and the technology transferred to other applications.

To evaluate the new design, DLR conducted numerical simulations on internal flows to estimate the fuel distributions and associated pressure losses in the feed lines for each propellant. Subsequent cold-flow tests showed a good correlation between numerically and experimentally measured data. Hot-fire testing for the final 3D printed injector head at PLD Space in Spain (another SMILE Project partner) showed good mixing and combustion efficiencies in combination with the rocket thrust chamber assembly designed by DLR.

Moving forward, the new design and manufacturing processes enabled by metal printing are expected to continue delivering a high degree of geometrical freedom, fewer production steps for faster time-to-market, optimized use of materials and parts, ongoing performance improvements, and enhanced structural integrity to extend the injector's lifespan.

"We think we can safely say that the integrated functionalities of the 3D printed injector head are superior and the production times and costs lower when compared to state-of-the-art equivalent parts manufactured via conventional methods," says Müller.

Metal additive in aerospace

Metal 3D printing has built momentum as a key technology in aeronautics and aerospace due to the alignment of its benefits with the industry's key priorities, including reduced weight, fuel savings, greater operational efficiencies, parts consolidation, accelerated time-to-market, and fewer storage requirements for parts.

Recent projects that have proven the efficacy of 3D Systems’ DMP technology in the aerospace market include:

  • The first 3D printed radio frequency (RF) filter tested and validated for use in commercial telecommunications satellites. The new filter from Airbus Defence and Space reduces weight by 50-percent over previous designs.
  • Titanium brackets that are 25-percent lighter and feature a better stiffness-to-weight ratio than those manufactured by traditional means, introduced through a collaboration between Thales Alenia Space and 3D Systems.
  • Engine parts created in a project by the European Space Agency (ESA) and 3D Systems that save weight, simplify assembly, speed manufacturing, and enable easier late-stage design adaptation.
  • A topologically optimized aircraft bracket that reduces weight by 70-percent while satisfying all functional requirements and meeting the GE Aircraft challenge.

Get in touch for more information on DMP for your application.