韩泰轮胎与技术公司 (Hankook Tire & Technology),不仅仅是一家轮胎制造商。这家总部位于首尔的公司专注于自动化与技术,致力于成为“未来驾驶创新者 (The Future Driving Innovator)”,电动汽车是其核心业务。近来,韩泰需要为其 i-Flex 非充气轮胎 (NPT) 迭代多种具有复杂几何形状的塑料和弹性设计,以快速且经济高效地进行创新,该轮胎最终将成为韩泰备受瞩目的 HPS-Cell 自动驾驶平台的关键组件。通过利用 3D Systems 的塑料和弹性体增材制造技术,韩泰的设计工作室能够快速迭代 i-Flex 非充气轮胎 (NPT) 的设计,并在设计和测试团队之间共享生产级品质部件,同时降低成本。

“使用 3D 打印的主要目的是在研发人员构建生产用轮胎的实际模具之前,与其进行更有效的沟通。传统模具都是机械加工而成,需要花费大量的金钱和时间进行开发,但这的确是确定新设计、形状甚至体积的传统方法。而现在,通过使用 3D Systems 的增材制造技术,我们可以更快地与研发部门进行合作,利用结构的一小部分来确定形状或结构,然后测试原型的安全性、噪音以及其他参数。”

- 韩泰轮胎与技术公司,设计创新工作室经理 Rosa Youn
 

韩泰展示轮胎具有精细细节

挑战

在降低成本的同时,加速多材料、复杂轮胎和车轮的设计与测试

韩泰轮胎与技术公司认为,未来的自动驾驶解决方案需要新一代的轮胎,这些轮胎需要将最少的维护工作与最大的安全性与舒适度结合起来。NPT 维护成本低、安全性高,是应用于该领域的理想之选,但开发一种满足所有这些条件的 NPT 是一项复杂而昂贵的设计挑战。韩泰设计师认为,模拟生物组织的仿生设计可以为 NPT 提供内部支撑,但由于可能用到的细胞结构设计数量几乎是无限的,韩泰的设计工作室需要一种快速评估部分部件和缩放完整模型的方法。

新轮胎的传统原型制作方法通常从 2D 草图开始,过渡到 3D CAD 设计,然后通过熟练的机械师将其转化为铝模具。整个过程成本极高、速度极慢,每次迭代可能要花费数周或数月的时间。

此外,NPT 的仿生支撑“辐条”矩阵由于其复杂的中空、相互连接的结构,甚至难倒了最有能力的加工站。在探索了大量快速原型制造和小批量生产的增材制造系统之后,韩泰选择 3D Systems 的 Figure 4 技术平台来打印塑料支撑结构和橡胶胎面。韩泰还向 3D Systems 的合作伙伴 CP Tech 寻求选择性激光烧结技术 (SLS),以实现金属轮胎结构和铰链的概念,从而促进 i-Flex NPT 原型开发。正如韩泰设计师所说,这就是移动的未来。

解决方案

1 - 非充气轮胎 i-Flex 的辐条结构

韩泰 3D 打印轮胎部件

使用 3D Systems 增材制造技术打印辐条的各种迭代和概念,形成了韩泰 HPS Cell (L) 的最终设计

韩泰的 NPT 轮胎包括用于内部支撑的复杂仿生塑料矩阵、外部橡胶轮胎胎面、执行轮胎边缘部分支撑功能的金属部件以及自动驾驶汽车所需的附加功能。这些中空结构无法在塑料中进行加工。

韩泰轮胎与技术公司设计创新工作室的设计师 Hee Sung Jang 表示:“得益于 [3D Systems] 的增材制造技术,我们可以设计或制造任何想要或想象得到的东西。这项技术可以消除制造的限制,对我们而言意义重大。传统的产品设计,例如建模和加工,有诸多限制,机床也有其局限性,而增材制造技术就没有这些限制。”

在 Figure 4 平台上,通过使用具备热塑塑料类机械特性的 Figure 4 PRO-BLK 10 塑料,韩泰设计师能够迅速迭代不同的支撑矩阵。韩泰设计工作室团队可以迅速将不同仿生矩阵的 3D 设计转化为保持相同细胞间距的部分原型或按比例缩小的原型,这对下游测试至关重要,同时还可以限制开发成本。借助包含全尺寸细胞结构的部分部件,设计工作室的设计师可以在进行整个轮胎装配之前,通过物理测试快速测量候选设计的相对强度。
 

2 – 部分轮胎的噪音控制测试

轮胎,包括 NPT 轮胎,不仅应安全耐用,而且需要美观以及听觉上的愉悦。简而言之,用户不会买难看的轮胎,也不会买噪音大的轮胎。在开发出 NPT 支撑矩阵后,韩泰设计工作室的设计师能够使用 Figure 4 RUBBER-65A BLK 弹性材料来开发部分和按比例缩小的胎面设计。

Youn 提到:“通过使用这些材料和部分部件,我们可以评估部件的噪音和安全性。测试系统将空气或水送入通道或凹槽中,[然后]我们通过测量噪音来判断结构是否正确。”她还表示,在未来,使用半透明的 Figure 4 材料构建胎面将使这一过程更加容易,工程师可以清楚看到液体如何沿着胎面凹槽流动。这是在恶劣天气下保障轮胎安全的关键部分。

此外,借助打印轮胎胎面,制造工程师可以轻松评估新 NPT 的稳定性、潜在的裂缝以及降低的可靠性。
 

韩泰轮胎特写

韩泰的 NPT 设计包括用于内部支撑的塑料组件、用于轮胎胎面的橡胶材料,以及用于轮胎轮辋和支撑的金属组件。这里展示了所有三个元素。

3 - 新概念型轮胎上的活动部件

得益于增材制造开发复杂形状的能力,韩泰设计师还可以开发内部凹槽和结构,帮助连接轮胎的三个主要元素:胎面、NPT 支撑矩阵和移动热塑塑料轮辋组件。热塑塑料组件由 CP Tech 使用 3D Systems 的 SLS 技术制造。这对韩泰而言是全新概念,因为传统轮胎不包含任何活动部件。

韩泰轮胎设计创新工作室经理 Rosa Youn 表示:“我们在众多优秀企业中选择 3D Systems 的主要原因之一是他们的材料选择非常广泛,它涵盖了我们所有的材料要求。此外,Figure 4 打印速度极快。节省时间、可靠性、服务、最佳故障排除,以及系统可用性和合理的价格是我们的关键决策因素。我们相信 3D Systems 的 Figure 4 的价值。对我而言,这是非常适合的增材制造系统。”
 

4 - 轮胎轮廓的标准视觉原型

韩泰设计工作室扩展了 Figure 4 平台的使用范围,将其用于开发传统的轮胎胎面和轮廓检测。这使得所有新产品设计的迭代速度更快,不仅仅是革命性的,还是进化性的。

展示胎面纹理的韩泰轮胎特写

除了帮助韩泰设计中心快速开发和测试 NPT 轮胎设计外,韩泰还可利用该中心快速评估新的胎面设计,以适应道路噪音和其他关键因素,减少韩泰所有新轮胎设计的上市时间和成本。

韩泰设计中心展示的一排 Figure 4 打印机

韩泰设计中心的增材制造实验室配备多台 Figure 4 Standalone 打印机,使韩泰能够在几分钟或几小时内通过现有部件加速创新。

On

成果:

富有创意的全新多部件非充气轮胎 (NPT) 设计可以更快迭代,能够经受真实世界的噪音和支撑测试。

  • 更快的迭代

    迭代间隔只需几天,而无需数周或数月

  • 将设计师从传统加工的限制中解放出来

    对传统的加工系统来说,支撑矩阵实际上是不可能的

  • 快速结构确认

    可有效检测传统制造方法无法生产的复杂无气辐条结构。

  • 更丰富的材料选择

    使用增材制造来开发硬塑料支架、软橡胶胎面和移动热塑塑料部件的能力,使设计师确信 3D Systems 的解决方案是解决其广泛应用挑战的理想之选。

  • 全方面的支持

    从培训到实时设计指导,3D Systems 及其合作伙伴可保证韩泰设计工作室屡获殊荣的 HPS-Cell 自动驾驶平台研发工作按计划进行。

Hankook Tire & Technology is more than a tire manufacturer. With a focus on automation and technology that will enable “The Future Driving Innovator,” the Seoul-based company has put electrical vehicles at the center of what they do. Recently, Hankook needed a way to quickly and cost-effectively drive innovation by iterating multiple plastic and elastomeric designs with complex geometries for its i-Flex nonpneumatic tire (NPT), which would eventually become a key component in Hankook’s award-winning HPS-Cell autonomous mobility platform. By leveraging 3D Systems’ plastic and elastomer additive manufacturing technologies, Hankook’s Design Studio was able to quickly iterate designs and share production-grade parts among their designing, and testing teams while reducing costs. 

“The main purpose of using 3D printing is to communicate better with R&D before they build the actual mold to produce the tire. The traditional molds are machined and cost a lot of money and time to develop, but that’s also been the conventional way to figure out a new design, shape, and even volume. Now, using additive manufacturing technologies from 3D Systems, we can work faster with R&D to figure out the shape or structure using small portions of the structure and then test our prototypes for safety, noise, and other parameters.” 

- Rosa Youn, Design Innovation Studio Manager, Hankook Tire & Technology
 

Hankook display tire showing intricate details

The Challenge

Expedite multimaterial, complex tire and wheel designs and testing while cutting costs

Hankook Tire & Technology understands that autonomous mobility solutions of the future require a new generation of tires that combine minimal maintenance with maximum safety and comfort. With their low maintenance and increased safety, NPTs are predestined for this field of application but developing an NPT that checks all these boxes presented a complex and costly design challenge. Hankook designers believed that a biomimetic design that mimicked biological tissues would provide internal support for the NPT, but with a nearly infinite number of possible cellular structure designs, Hankook’s Design Studio needed a way to quickly evaluate partial parts as well as scale complete models. 

Traditional prototyping methods for new tires often started with a 2D sketch, transitioning to a 3D CAD design that would be translated into an aluminum mold through skilled human machinists. The entire process was too costly and too slow, with each iteration taking potentially weeks or months. 

Furthermore, the NPT’s biomimetic supporting “spokes” matrix challenged even the most capable machining stations due to its complex hollow, interconnected structures. After exploring multiple additive systems for rapid prototyping and low-volume production, Hankook chose 3D Systems’ Figure 4 technology platform for the plastic support structures and rubber tread. Hankook also turned to 3D Systems’ partner CP Tech for selective laser sintering (SLS) for conepting the metal tire structures and hinges, which turbocharged the development of their i-Flex NPT prototypes. The result, as Hankook designers like to say, is the future of mobility. 

The Solution

1 – Spoke Structures for Nonpneumatic Tire i-Flex

Hankook 3D printed tire parts

Various iterations and concepts of spokes printed with 3D Systems additive manufacturing technologies (r) that led to the final design of the Hankook HPS Cell (L)

Hankook’s NPT tire includes a complex biomimetic plastic matrix for internal support, an elastomeric external tire tread, and metal parts that perform some of the support functions of a tire rim plus additional functions necessary for autonomous vehicles. Machining these hollow structures in plastic would be nearly impossible. 

“For us, because of [3D Systems’] additive manufacturing technologies, we can design or make anything we want to or anything we can imagine. This technology can eliminate the limits of manufacturing, which is really great for us. With traditional product design for example, building and machining, there are a lot of limits. Machine tools have limits. Additive manufacturing does not have these limits,” said Hee Sung Jang, Design Innovation Studio Designer, Hankook Tire & Technology.

Using the Figure 4 platform, Hankook designers are able to quickly iterate different support matrices using Figure 4 PRO-BLK 10 plastic with its thermoplastic-like mechanical properties. The Hankook Design Studio team could quickly turn 3D designs of different biomimetic matrixes into partial or scaled prototypes that maintain the same cellular spacing ¬— which is critically important to downstream testing — all while constraining development costs. With partial parts that include full-scale cellular structures, Design Studio designers could quickly gauge relative strengths among candidate designs using physical testing before proceeding into full tire assembly. 
 

2 – Noise Control Testing on Tire Segments

Tires, including NPT tires, need to be safe and durable, but they also need to be aesthetically and acoustically pleasing. In short, people won’t buy ugly tires, and they won’t keep buying loud tires. After developing the NPT support matrix, Hankook Design Studio designers were able to develop partial and scaled tread designs using Figure 4 RUBBER-65A BLK elastomeric materials. 

“By using those materials and partial parts, we can evaluate the part for noise and safety,” said Mrs. Youn. “The test system flows air or water into the channel or groove, [and] we measure the noise to understand if the structure is correct or not.” She added that in the future, building these treads in translucent Figure 4 material will make the process even easier, allowing engineers to see how fluid travels down the tread grooves, a key part of tire safety in adverse weather.

Additionally, printing tire treads makes it easy for manufacturing engineers to evaluate new NPTs for stability and potential cracking and reduced reliability.  
 

A close up of a hankook tire

Hankook’s NPT design includes plastic components for internal support, rubber materials for tire tread, and metal components for tire rim and support. All three elements are shown here.

3 - Moving Parts on New Concept–Type Tires

Additive manufacturing’s ability to develop complex shapes also allowed Hankook designers to develop internal grooves and structures that help connect the tires’ three primary elements: tread, NPT support matrixes, and moving thermoplastic rim components. The thermoplastic components were manufactured by CP Tech, using 3D Systems’ SLS  technology. This was new to Hankook, as traditional tires don’t consist of any moving parts.  

“One of the main reasons we chose 3D Systems over the competition is that their material selection is so broad,” said Rosa Youn, Design Innovation Studio Manager, Hankook Tires. “It covers all the material requirements we have. In addition the Figure 4 is fast. Time saving, reliability, service, best troubleshooting, and also availability of the system and reasonable price were our key decision factors. We believe in the value of 3D Systems’ Figure 4. For me it is one of the best additive manufacturing systems in the world.”
 

4 - Standard Visual Prototypes of Tire Profiles

Hankook Design Studio has already expanded the use of the Figure 4 platform, using it to develop traditional tire treads and profiles for testing. This is allowing for faster iterations of all new product designs, not just the revolutionary but the evolutionary as well.

a close up of a hankook tire showing the textures in the tread

In addition to helping Hankook’s Design Center quickly develop and test NPT tire designs, the company can also use it to quickly evaluate new tread designs for road noise and other key factors, reducing time to market and costs for all new tire designs at Hankook.

Hankook Design center showing row of Figure 4 printers

Additive Manufacturing Lab at the Hankook Design Center with its fleet of Figure 4 Standalone printers that enable the company to accelerate innovation with parts in hand within minutes and hours.

On

The Results:

Faster iterations of a wholly new and innovative multipart nonpneumatic tire (NPT) designs capable of undergoing real-world noise and support testing.

  • Faster iterations

    Days between iterations instead of weeks or months

  • Freeing designers from traditional machining limitations

    Support matrixes would have been practically impossible for traditional machining systems

  • Rapid structure confirmation

    Allows to check complex airless spoke structure effectively that cannot be produced in classic manufacturing method. 

  • Greater material selection

    The ability to use additive manufacturing to develop hard plastic support, soft rubber treads, and moving thermoplastic  parts convinced designers 3D Systems’ solutions are suited to solve their broad scope of application challenges.  

  • Unparalleled Support

    From training to real-time design guidance, 3D Systems and partners were able to keep Hankook Design Studio’s aggressive schedule on track for their award-winning HPS-Cell autonomous mobility platform.