工厂生产方法将通过可扩展的工业级增材制造得到改进

两个多世纪以来,工业工厂生产在四个主要方面表现出色:过程的可重复性、生产部件的耐用性、工作流程的生产效率以及经济的运营总成本。工厂工作流程已经过优化,从而以尽可能低的成本生产尽可能多的优质部件。任何寻求与标准流程一起被接纳的新的生产方法或工作流程,都必须满足新要求或以其他方式改进这些过时的元素。

当今的制造业正在经历快速转型:有人将这一过程称之为工业 4.0。新的市场需求推动制造商提高速度和灵活性。新的商业模式需要快速响应客户需求和快速的设计迭代。制造商需要更短的生产周期和更快的产品生态系统演化;他们必须以数字化速度打造实体产品。

用于大型无缝部件的可扩展金属增材制造。
DMP Factory 500 是一种工作流程经过优化的金属 3D 打印解决方案,可实现大规模可扩展性、可重复的优质部件、高吞吐量和低总运营成本,生产的部件大小可高达 500 mm x 500 mm x 500 mm。

幸运的是,对于面临这些压力的制造商而言,3D 打印技术的功能不断提高,已经成为行业工厂生产的战略资产。新材料、新的打印方法、新的设计能力和新的工作流程意味着数字化制造方法成为可能。在过去的 30 年里,3D 打印一直是设计评审、原型制造、临时一次性用品或搭桥制造的主要研发内容。现今,3D 打印加入工厂车间,并可以成为批量生产最终产品的一部分。

On

3D Systems 将这次革命称为数字工厂,它满足了工厂级生产的四个关键标准:

  • 部件可重复性确保达到六西格玛品质。
  • 使用新的设计技术和创新的金属和塑料材料,确保耐用性。
  • 使用最先进的生产工艺可以实现 24/7 全天候生产。
  • 对于合适的部件和生产水平,部件制造所需的总成本低于现有的模拟方法。
  • Thales 公司使用 DMP Factory 350 金属粉床熔铸打印机打造的经过拓扑优化的 3D 打印航天支架
  • 使用数字工厂技术制造的部件在可重复性和耐用性方面都更加出色。它们兑现了工业 4.0 对产品和流程的诺言,而采用传统方法不可能实现。先进的设计算法支持内部晶格代替实体,从而使得部件质量更轻但却更加坚固。注塑成型行业可以在数小时而不是几周内设计出适形的冷却模具,或批量生产新型热塑塑料部件。数字铸造工艺能够快速且灵活地创建蜡质模具铸造模型和铸件 — 成本低、无需等待成型、没有传统铸造的固有缺陷,并且也能够进行直接金属打印。

数字工厂的三大支柱

调查公司 Jabil 称,68% 的汽车制造商表示,他们的目标是在两年内进入市场,而仅在几年前,差不多需要 10 年时间。其他行业对新产品引进的速度也有类似的要求。为了满足这些新的市场需求,需要借助数字工厂创新的生产速度和能力。

数字工厂为注塑成型、铸造和部件生产提供了转变的机会。数字工厂有三大支柱:金属、塑料和数字化铸造。制造商需要什么取决于行业、产品和所需的“概念到成品部件”的速度水平。这三个支柱都依赖于最先进的软件来充分发挥它们的潜力。

  • 金属数字工厂

    3D Systems DMP Flex 350 强大的金属 3D 打印机,能够进行 24/7 全天候部件生产,适用于灵活应用

    金属数字工厂采用包括增材和减材解决方案在内的模块化工艺,利用关键的行业金属持续生产具有工厂可重复性的部件。增材制造与传统方法集成,从而更快速、更高效地制造部件。

  • 塑料数字工厂

    3Dprintedparts.com 上利用 Figure 4 Standalone 打印的部件

    塑料数字工厂使用最新的增材热塑塑料和树脂批量生产耐用的部件,所需时间仅为传统注塑成型方法所耗时间的零头,有效加快生产速度,适合生产短周期的塑料部件,无需 MOQs,也免除了等待模具加工的成本和时间

  • 数字化铸造

    在熔模铸造流程不同阶段打印的 3D 打印部件

    数字化铸造可以创建、迭代、细化以及生产铸造部件,速度更快,灵活性更高 — 免除了模具加工的成本和等待时间。使用数字化铸造工艺的公司在收到 CAD 数据后的几天内就能交付铸造部件,而不是等待高达 12 周的加工时间。

数字工厂 Onramp

数字工厂不仅仅局限于使用新的硬件。3D Systems 在新材料和新软件研发上投入了大量资金。公司提供有各种金属、热塑塑料和树脂,所有这些都经过认证,能够在数字工厂框架中使用。3D Systems 的文件准备软件,消除了工厂对 CAD 专家和昂贵软件的需求,从而大大节省了成本。

制造商现在可以改写自己的商业模式,并在工业 4.0 时代中掌握竞争优势。随着工程师和高管们了解到数字工厂的巨大潜力,他们将找到更快生产更优质产品的新方法。采用数字工厂的用户拥有新产品、新的商业模式和新公司,便是水到渠成的事。

Factory production methodologies are about to be enhanced by scalable, industrial-grade additive manufacturing

For more than two centuries industrial factory production has excelled in four key aspects: repeatability of the process, durability of parts produced, productivity of the workflow, and an economical total cost of operation. Factory workflows have been optimized to produce the best possible parts in quantity, as inexpensively as possible. Any new production method or workflow process that hopes to be accepted alongside this standard process must meet or otherwise improve on these time-worn elements. 

Today manufacturing is undergoing rapid transformation: it’s a process some call Industry 4.0. New marketplace demands push manufacturers to increase speed and agility. New business models require a rapid response to consumer demand and rapid design iteration. Manufacturers need shorter production cycles and faster product ecosystem evolution; they must create physical products at a digital pace. 

Scalable metal Additive Manufacturing for seamless large parts.
The DMP Factory 500 is a workflow-optimized metal 3D printing solution for massive scalability, repeatable high-quality parts, high throughput and low TCO, producing parts of up to 500 mm x 500 mm x 500 mm in size.

Fortunately for manufacturers facing these pressures, 3D printing technologies have advanced in capability to be strategic assets for industrial factory production. New materials, new printing methods, new design capabilities, and new workflow processes mean a digital approach to manufacturing is now possible. For the past 30 years, 3D printing has been an R&D staple for design review, prototyping, and occasional one-off or bridge manufacturing. Today, 3D printing is joining the factory floor and can be part of manufacturing the final products in production volumes. 

On

3D Systems calls this revolution the Digital Factory, and it meets the four key criteria for factory-grade production:

  • Part repeatability can be guaranteed to six sigma quality.
  • Durability can be assured using new design techniques and innovative metal and plastic materials.
  • Productivity is 24/7 using state-of-the-art production processes.
  • Total cost of part manufacturing, for the right parts and the right level of production, beats existing analog methods.
  • Topologically optimized aerospace bracket 3D print with the DMP Factory 350 metal powder bed fusion printer by Thales
  • Parts created using Digital Factory technologies can be more than repeatable and durable. They can deliver on the promise of Industry 4.0 with products and processes impossible to achieve using traditional methods. Advanced design algorithms enable interior lattices instead of solids, resulting in lighter yet stronger parts. Injection molding industries can design conformal cooling molds available in hours instead of weeks, or create novel thermoplastic parts in volume. Digital foundry processes can create wax mold casting patterns and casted parts with speed and flexibility — without the cost and wait for tooling and the inherent dangers of traditional casting when printing direct to metal.

Three Pillars of the Digital Factory

Research firm Jabil claims 68% of automotive manufacturers report a go-to-market aim of under two years, down from nearly a decade only a few years ago. Other industries have similar velocity requirements for new product introductions. To meet these new market demands requires the innovative production speed and capability available through the Digital Factory. 

The Digital Factory offers transformative opportunities for injection molding, casting, and part production. There are three pillars of the Digital Factory: metals, plastics, and the Digital Foundry. What a manufacturer needs depends on the industry, products, and level of art-to-part velocity required. All three pillars depend on state-of-the-art software to achieve their full potential. 

  • Digital factory for Metals

    3D Systems DMP Flex 350 robust metal 3D printer for 24/7 part production and flexible application use

    The Digital Factory for metals uses a modular process incorporating additive and subtractive solutions to produce parts with factory repeatability on a continual basis, leveraging key industry metals. Additive integrates with traditional methodologies to create more effective parts, faster.

  • Digital factory for Plastics

    Parts printed on Figure 4 Standalone at 3Dprintedparts.com

    The Digital Factory for plastics uses the latest additive thermoplastics and resins to create durable parts in volume, in a fraction of the time it takes to ramp production with traditional injection molding methods, for short-run plastic parts with no MOQs and the cost and wait for tooling.

  • The Digital Foundry

    3D printed wax patterns drop seamlessly into the foundry process for rapid production of cast parts

    The Digital Foundry can create, iterate, refine, and produce cast parts with improved speed and flexibility — without the cost and wait for tooling. Companies using Digital Foundry processes are delivering casted parts in a few days after receiving CAD data, instead of waiting for up to 12 weeks for tooling.

Digital Factory Onramp

The Digital Factory is about more than new hardware. 3D Systems has invested heavily in R&D for both new materials and new software. A wide range of metals, thermoplastics, and resins are available, all certified for use in the Digital Factory framework. 3D Systems’ file preparation software eliminates the needs for CAD experts and costly software in the factory leading to significant cost savings.

Manufacturers now have the ability to rewrite their business models and seize competitive advantages in the era of Industry 4.0. As engineers and executives learn what can be accomplished in the Digital Factory, they will find new ways of creating better products faster. New products, new business models, and new companies will be the natural result for those who embrace the Digital Factory.