“如果我们没有检测这些零部件,而是采用了错误设计进行订购,可能会导致长达 6 个月的延迟并损失 10,000 欧元。但是,有了 3D 打印件,我们可以确信更改的设计正确无误,从而直接进入铸造阶段。”Graham Cooper

 

Vauxhall Motors Ltd. 是 General Motors 的英国分公司,不断努力提高其车辆的质量和生产效率,同时致力于节约生产时间和成本。

2014 年 5 月,公司开始采用修改后的加工悬吊装置,以引进并加工采用关键创新零部件的未来模型变体,这种新的零部件用于在生产过程中支撑每台车身,从而能够轻松装卸车身。此部件是一个非常重要的组成部分,必须与机器以及模型变体完美契合,前者是为了产生正确的间隙,后者是为了避免生产期间出现损坏。

3D printed hanger piece allows for testing of vehicle production on the production line
3D printed hanger piece allows for testing of vehicle production on the production line

工厂运输系统的高级计划工程师 Graham Cooper 了解这些零部件的重要性以及成功生产所需要的精确度。他也了解出错会使新设备的引进延迟 6 个月或更久,因为最终零部件用铸钢制造,成本极高且制造所需的准备时间极长。

团队联系了 InfusionTech 的总经理 Tim Warwick,这家公司专门对零部件进行后期加工,增加强度、抗热性以及原始零部件并不具备的其他性能。Tim 建议,结合 ProJet 660 彩喷打印与灌注机器制作而成的 3D 打印工具将提供在检测各个阶段中抬起整台车辆所需的精度和强度。

Tim 说道:“这一 3D 打印平台所使用的石膏材料本身并非特别坚固。但是,灌注模具材料后,我们可以制造出能够满足极端严苛要求的坚固、耐用零部件。”

3D printed hanger on the producion line
3D printed hanger on the producion line

On receipt of the 3D printed parts, Graham and the team at Vauxhall installed them on the process hanger and started testing. According to Graham the parts performed perfectly and enabled the team to achieve the following:

  • 3D 打印使我们能够在订购铸钢块之前对照现场所有车辆位置点检查 CAD 设计的准确性。
  • 打印块使我们能够完成对自动装载位置的调整,该位置用于将每台车辆从滑轨装载到加工悬吊装置上。
  • 在现场使用打印块后,我们发现自动装载某个模型变体时顶部定位销的高度存在问题,因此降低了该销的高度并相应调整了自动装载位置。
  • 打印块使我们能够对自动卸载位置进行调整,该位置用于将每台车辆从加工悬吊装置卸载回滑轨上。
  • 这些块使加工部门能够针对新块上的每个模型变体设置汽车底盘密封打胶机的程序。   

根据检测结果修改设计以降低销的高度后,Graham 和团队认为可以开始订购铸件。这些零部件的成本高达上万美元,制造时间近六个月。必须具有完美的设计数据才能取得成功。

他评论道:“这一过程完美极了。我们需要检测零部件,结果通过 3D 打印得到了完美的解决方案。”

据 Vauxhall 团队预计,这一流程在极大程度上节省了成本并缩短了设计和实施加工悬吊装置更改所需的时间,同时显著降低了风险。

“如果没有检测这些零部件,而是采用了错误设计进行订购,可能会导致长达 6 个月的延迟并损失 10,000 欧元。但是,有了 3D 打印件,我们可以确信更改的设计正确无误,从而直接进入铸造阶段。”

此外,他还补充道:“能够在该过程中轻松设置打胶机程序也为我们带来了巨大优势 – 通常,此步骤在钢件到货时才能进行,这会使延迟情况更为严重。”

“我们肯定还会再这样做,而且会继续将 3D 打印融入到设计和工程过程中。”

“If we hadn’t tested these parts, and instead ordered them with the wrong design, it would have cost us up to 6 months in delays and over £10,000. Instead, because of the 3D printed parts, we were confident that the altered design would work perfectly so we could go to casting.” Graham Cooper

Vauxhall Motors Ltd., the UK division of General Motors, constantly drives to improve quality and productivity of its vehicles, while working to save time and costs during production.

In May 2014, the company was setting out to introduce a modified process hanger for the introduction and processing of future model variants with a key new innovation – a new part that would be used to support each vehicle body throughout the production process and allow it to be easily loaded and unloaded. This part is a critical piece and had to perfectly fit both the machinery to create correct clearances but also the model variants to avoid damage during production.

3D printed hanger piece allows for testing of vehicle production on the production line
3D printed hanger piece allows for testing of vehicle production on the production line

Graham Cooper, Senior Planning Engineer for the plant conveyor systems knew how critical these parts were and how precise they had to be for successful production. Since the final parts would be cast steel, at very high cost and with a lengthy lead time to manufacture them, he also knew that making a mistake would delay the introduction of the new equipment by up to 6 months or more.

The team contacted Tim Warwick, Managing Director at InfusionTech, a company that specializes in the post-processing of parts to build strength, heat resistance and other properties not immediately available in the original parts. Tim advised that 3D printed tools using the ProJet 660 Color Jet printing in combination with their infusion machine would deliver the accuracy and strength required to lift entire vehicles down the line during testing.

“The gypsum material used in this 3D printing platform is not particularly strong in its raw state,” said Tim, “But once we infuse with our tooling material we can deliver very tough, usable parts that meet very demanding needs.”

3D printed hanger on the producion line
3D printed hanger on the producion line

On receipt of the 3D printed parts, Graham and the team at Vauxhall installed them on the process hanger and started testing. According to Graham the parts performed perfectly and enabled the team to achieve the following:

  • The 3d prints allowed us to check the accuracy of the CAD design against all of the vehicle location points on site prior to ordering the cast steel blocks.
  • The printed blocks allowed us to complete the modifications to the automatic load station which loads each vehicle from a skid to the process hanger.
  • Due to having the printed blocks on site we identified a problem with the height of the top location pin when automatically loading one of the model variants, therefore we have reduced the height of the pin and adjusted the automatic load station to suit.
  • The printed blocks allowed the modifications to the automatic unload station which unloads each vehicle from the process hanger back to a skid.
  • The blocks allowed our process department to program the underbody sealing robots for each model variant on the new blocks.   

Once the designs were modified to reduce the height of the pin as identified during testing, Graham and the team felt ready to order the cast parts themselves. These parts would cost tens of thousands of dollars and would take nearly six months to be created. They had to have perfect design data to be successful.

“This process worked perfectly,” he commented. “We needed test parts and we got the perfect solution using 3D printing.”

The team at Vauxhall estimates that this process has significantly saved money, reduced the time spent designing and implementing the changes to the process hanger and significantly reduced risk.

“If we hadn’t tested these parts, and instead ordered them with the wrong design, it would have cost us up to 6 months in delays and over £10,000. Instead, because of the 3D printed parts, we were confident that the altered design would work perfectly so we could go to casting.”

In addition, he adds: ”The ability to be able to program the robots so early in the process also gave us a huge advantage – this would normally not be undertaken until after the steel parts arrive, giving us yet more delays.”

“We would definitely do this again and intend to continue to incorporate 3D printing into our design and engineering process.”

More Customer Stories